Musings of a Recluse

in #life5 years ago (edited)

ice_2019-03-01-09-39-32-586.jpg

Last night, I was calling my long-time long-distance friend just to have a familiar someone to talk to. It was like asking him about his life so I could tell him about my life. It's undeniable that we are self-obsessed creatures. He was telling me about his responsibilities as a father, problems with his wife, and far more important issues in life. I guess that's the best thing about living with other humans, you have far more excitements in life. I truly enjoy listening to him because I feel like I am much needed here. And it's a good feeling. Then I was telling him about my isolation.

You chose that life. Remember why you are there.

This is the truth. I was telling him about my accomplishments, a reminder of why I am here. The rewards for my isolation. I am not saying that I am Nikola Tesla, not at any level, but there seems to be a great thing for choosing not to be married or not to be greatly involved in the deep affairs of the society.

Another friend or a momentary businessman friend in this town once told me, "success in business depends on your location. And you are in the right place." I believe what he said. Now I remember why I am here.

If I am not going out with my guests (on tours, night out, or some event), I might not as well see and feel the sun in this sun-soaked part of the world. Somehow I feel happy that I have a safe space for my real thoughts. I stay in my dome of safety where I feel most comfortable. Writing, working on my thing, exercising, sleeping, thinking. A lot of time to think. Then I think, is there something wrong with me?

To be honest, I don't want to be seen unless needed. I wear an invisible cloak whenever I go out but it seems like the more you want to be anonymous, the more you attract attention. I don't want a shallow human connection. I used to think that this is a sign of some serious mental problem. But then I realized, I just feel more safe and comfortable inside my mind.

In the beginning, I wanted to prove that there's nothing wrong with me. So believe me, I tried to be part of the crowd. I made new friends. I lost them. I am not traveling anymore yet I feel like I've gotten used to the goodbye-nice-to-know-you life. I realized that my age is not the right time to make new friends. Or maybe I just have different interests now. And people are not part of it. It's not that I'm judgmental, it's just that I know the deal most of the time. I see right through people. I don't want to waste my time anymore. Then I remember why I am here.

I have a purpose. Goals, dreams, and ambitions. These things are usually not for people who want to be with people. I know, so maybe, there's really something wrong with me.

I look back and see what I've achieved so far. I feel happy. And maybe Lady Gaga is right, career won't wake up one day and tell me it doesn't love me anymore. Or maybe I got so hurt by so many people that I don't believe in them anymore. The only world I know is a world of pain. Feeling the pain and giving the pain. It's a vicious cycle. Deep down, I know this isn't true. Think of all the people who tried to save me. Think of all the people I tried to save.

Or maybe it's a good thing that my happiness no longer depends on people and that my loneliness depends on people. Somehow I got the right balance there. I am kind of like illusioned and disillusioned at the same time. If I want to be happy, I'll think about my selfish ideals. Then if I want to be lonely, I'll try to be part of the community. Because I feel more lonely when I'm surrounded by people than when I'm alone. I can go back and forth anytime I want. That's the best thing about my life. I can choose anything.

I have the same question as Sylvia Plath, "Is there a way out of my mind?" I am out of my mind.

I am not meant to be understood.

Finally, I asked my friend why do I feel like a human sometimes. Needing somebody, needing you to be here.

You chose that life. Remember why you are there.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The best and the worst is getting exactly what you want...

It’s good to read your musings again. While I can’t relate much to your loneliness and isolation as I’m more like the friend you spoke to, my 2 kids and wife fill so much life space that I almost crave that isolation you write of.
But so it goes, I couldn’t and wouldn’t trade this life.

I can’t speak for the masses but I think many of us dwell and doubt our sanity/normality. To think and question if something is wrong with you, in my view is what makes a personal normal... decent humans ask these questions.
The fuckwits that are so sure of themselves are what scare me.

Good to know you are still plugging away at your dreams and that all this hard work and determination toward your business is starting come together!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear diabolika:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94