My Knives #26 A Collab!!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

I know, I know - you are thinking What is this - not an IG feed post?

Yes, despite the rumours floating around, I am alive and kicking.

I just had a lot on my plate lately so I wasn't posting anything serious.

Anyhow, I have a special treat for you today.

1.jpg

The story

I am not what one would call a social guy. Honestly, I rarely meat anyone that can keep my attention for a longer time.
I am a self-sustaining guy, I don't need a pack to feel comfortable, I don't really crave for the company.
As things go, finding someone who's acceptable as I get older kinda gets harder.
So imagine my surprise when some three years ago I meet a guy, and we become buddies.

It all started with me posting on one forum group that I have some ceramic wool left over from when I was building my forge. So this guy sends me msg saying he was just about to buy some for his forge, and would really appreciate me cede mine.
And, since this is a cool story, after a few mins of chatting it became apparent that not only that we live in the same town, we actually work in the neighboroughing buildings.

So, I gave him the K-wool and we started talking, and one thing lead to another and we've become pals.
Nothing like Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, or anything like that but we do spend some serious time together - serious by my standards.

Being how he's a knifemaker also, we do have a topic or two that we find of interest. Over the years, as these things go, I helped him on some projects, and then he did the same for me, and before you know it we started talking about building a knife together.

Now, as I've mentioned, I'm not much of a team player. I like doing things on my own. And since we do kinda cover a different spectrum of knifemaking, me mostly doing kitchen knives, and he being more of a camping/EDC guy, it was not an easy match.

I don't really want to go too deep into the difference, because there are so many of them, but a few main ones do jump on my mind.

While my knives are as thin as I can make them, his are thick and sturdy.
While his are though and can sustain a lot of beating, mine are hard and delicate.
I use a lot of natural materials on my handles, and he uses a lot of synthetic ones.
My.... well you get the point.

Anywho, because of reasons, wee agreed to make a chef knife with a compound full tang handle and a leather saya.
My job was to do the blade and he will take care of the handle and saya.

In the end, it took us almost half a year to actually get the job done, but the final product is really something to be proud of.

Stats


Blade: 1095 steel with hamon
Length: 210mm with AOL 345 mm
Handle: carbon fibre with stabilized maple burl and some nice looking G10 pins
Saya: veg curred leather with stylized hamon

The build

The screw up
IMG_20181115_153011.jpg
IMG_20181115_153248.jpg

Of course, I just had to screw something up, and this time the choice of the fail was the heat-treatment

Take two - off the grinder test etch
IMG_20181220_172731.jpg

A final etch after some extensive hand-sanding
IMG_20190119_165400.jpg
IMG_20190127_102252.jpg

Choosing the handle materials
IMG-065aa97d9e5d9927581fdf21417b1191-V.jpg

First dry-fit
IMG-e777952733e339e58e34ad4e8a112c6f-V.jpg

Handle done!
IMG-73204dd2b3956de441e3bccea014af8e-V.jpg
IMG-15fd3733d2baf8ab5f6bad5ca79bdef2-V.jpg

Saya build
IMG-4e55273370c4065538e5a5f1077ccc7a-V.jpg
IMG-07397a7c3379606457a7fd668d12be29-V.jpg
IMG-1d5ea1119265b067d084a48a9aca89b8-V.jpg
IMG-55bd5d436b0d5d9a22953b10335e1b88-V.jpg

The final product


IMG-9b639c9cd45fe4346f0450a2de005c00-V.jpg
IMG-6289421e7949b72a7f166e2dc33960c1-V.jpg
IMG-606209626b07aa6ed210e0391713935f-V.jpg
IMG-a00de0d6ae9e6c0ad614af1285386ac9-V.jpg
IMG-e6d46f860b6a73b5f5b270b9adc2ac63-V.jpg
IMG-f9f155ecd20ed0a12fc3b8c2a5c3c8b3-V.jpg
IMG-c92b26cc371f761a8662d7dc472a7d0d-V.jpg

Final thoughts

Even though it was quite a challenge, in the end, I am really satisfied whit how it came out.
Tom did an amazing job with the handle and the saya, and he assures me that he is quite taken with the blade.
I think the most fascinating thing is the fact that I would never build a knife like this one on my own.
It is funny how a lot of small differences in style and technique come together in something quite unique.

P.S.

Thank you all for stopping by and for being patient with my sporadic posting.
And also, if you're on IG be sure to check Tom's tread.
If you're interested in the knife, we'll post a raffle in a day or two so there's a chance of winning this beauty for pocket money.























Sort:  

I think finding each other and then finding you are living very close by is amazing. You both have different skills and what you have produced is absolutely fantastic and something to be proud of.

What a great story, I'm so happy you've found someone with common interest. people are different and it's not every day that you meet someone you can become friends with. The knife looks fantastic, who wouldn't love to have it? My dad is crazy about knives, he's collecting them, I'm sure he would love it but so would I :) Anyway, congratulations, well done!

Thank you @erikah
Oh a direct line to a knives collector - to a knife maker that's like a candy store to a kid - pure bliss :)

But seriously, I'll be posting a raffle tomorrow on my Insta so there's a chance you (or your dad) could get your hands on her for a cca $20.

Hi docsmith,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

@curie Thank you guys so much, it really means a lot.

hi @docsmith
it was a lot of fun to read your story, more than on the knife (on the construction of which I know nothing, but I do a lot of compliments) I identified with this friendship that grows with the construction of your object in common. You must be well satisfied with your creation! congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

Thank you so much @road2horizon. I am glad you liked the story and the knife.
I'll do my best to keep the new ones coming.

That's a very handsome looking knife, and it sounds like you're actually both happy with the collaboration. Based on what you've said in the past, I'm assuming that each one of you did your part in your own shops. :)

Since this one turned out so well, have you already been talking about another collaboration?

re: sporadic posting

We all do what we got to do, and what we have time to do, right? Congratulations on the curie, too. :)

Hey @glenalbrethsen
Thanks so much.
Yep, we are both happy with the knife, but honestly, I don't think I'll be doing more collabs soon.

It was kinda fun for a one time deal - I think it would become a boar and a drag really soon if we did it again.
I don't like to picture myself as an artist, but each and every knife I make I put a part of me in it. So, even though I honestly have nothing to complain about how Tom did his part, I did catch myself during the build that I feel like he was molesting my baby.
If you know what I mean.

Oh, I understand what you're saying completely. That's why I'm not so keen on collaborations myself, though some have had good results, like yours did. But you also need to be true to yourself and what you're comfortable with, and unless there's some ongoing good that will come from stepping outside the comfort zone or whatever we should call it in this case, I see no reason to do it.

Hello @docsmith, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @docsmith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45