You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Volatile Topics Over Dinner?

in #life5 years ago

It's so odd as I thought I had commented on this post. I think I must have read it and had a good think and somehow in my head, I made a comment. Part of the problem of a solitary introvert: Too comfortable having entire conversations with oneself and just moving on :)

It can be odd when uncomfortable things come up at dinner parties. I think it is all about just gauging the audience. It can usually be guessed at who would be open to discussing and not just creating an 'argument'.

I often find most people today have one view and opinion and they don't want to change it and aren't open to new ideas, in that case, it can often be wasted breath and unnecessary uncomfortable ways. That might just be my WASP ways of not expressing too much about opinions at dinner.

I'm not even sure where I stand on the metoo movement. I often feel like there is a LOT of grey in the world but we really live in a black and white variety due to our internet lives. we are meant to have easily digestible views and opinions that can be tweeted and hashtagged and so often there is very little subtlety. I also see a lot of public stone throwing that is not unlike our medieval ancestors in the town square. I'm not sure if we are moving backwards in our treatment to one another or we are simply the same and this is just its new guise.

Sort:  

Hi Donna! this made me burst out laughing!

Part of the problem of a solitary introvert: Too comfortable having entire conversations with oneself and just moving on :)

Thanks for your comment, regardless of timing. I agree that one needs to read the room and if it won't lead to discussion with open minds, it's probably not worth it. I've asked several people about this, it became sort of a research project and funnily enough even in addressing the subject of how to discuss difficult issues at a dinner 1 person specifically was so deeply offended that I even consider such a thing that he was immediately in argument mode and verbally attacked me. I still can't quite believe that we're all so explosive and unwilling to just talk to each other these days. We don't have to agree, but disagreement can occur respectfully!! After all, we're all human and the so called difficult issues are actually the most important existential issues of our time. I crave the discourse of a classroom I guess where it's enjoyable to throw ideas around and add to our existing thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87