Gratitude leads to happiness - Day 15

in #life6 years ago

Today I am grateful for knowledge and information. That's kind of a random subject but bear with me.

I've been reading up on some great books to help me with things to do with parenthood. Recently the subjects have been around gentle discipline and on potty training. These are the stages that we are going through now!

pexels-photo-256546.jpeg
Image Source

Not so long ago I was trying to find all the information that I could get around cosleeping. This was harder for me to find out about. All my usual ways were not helping (well child nurse, doctor, library books). They would not even discuss the subject with me. So I kept searching and I found some great sites online that had all the safe ways and information required.

The point in my post today is that I'm so incredibly grateful that there's information available for those who are searching for it. If I didn't have the resources that I have found then I shudder to think about what my life would be like.

A quick example here is with the cosleeping situation. This was never our plan. Our baby was going to sleep in her own bed. We were dutiful first time parents. We went to the pre-natal classes, learned all about the safe sleeping rules. We listened to the nurses at the hospital when she was born. We got home with her and tried out the safe sleeping but it quickly became apparent that she was not going to comply.

Night after night she was waking every hour and I stumbled out of bed to go to her. I would fall asleep holding her and wake up some time later on absolutely terrified about it. I could have dropped her or any number of things could have happened. This went on for three months before I almost had a breakdown. Letting her cry was never an option for me or her dad. It felt (and still feels) incredibly wrong. There was no help from the well child nurse, midwife or doctor. I was just fed the same information about safe sleeping. If you could call it sleeping! None of us were getting any decent sleep! My point is that once I found some information that felt right we tried it and we have never looked back. Having the information was key. I never would have tried to cosleep if I didn't know how to do it safely.

I love how information, knowledge, advice and support is easily available to me. I have a few groups online for some things, I have books, I have a huge sea of information online. I am able to find the right information for me and for that I am thankful!

Sort:  

Had you known, you could have just asked me and probably a few others on here about that stuff, we could have helped out and pointed you at things :) Yay for having the means to find out what you needed in the end :D

Yeah I know now that I have a great community of people here who I can get so much advice from. I plan to use you all with advice on home school when the time comes. My partner is not budging at all. He's adamant she's going to school. I've had to drop the subject for now.
I will win....I know its the best for us. I may just need help forming a good case to get my points and reasons across!

Find out exactly what he's concerned about and address those is usually the best way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71