The Beginning of my Professional Boxing and MMA Journey

in #life6 years ago

0715181309-1.jpg
The Beginning of my Professional Boxing and MMA Journey

I have always pushed myself just to see how far I could go, how much I could take...constantly testing myself and my abilities.

I've lived a pretty exciting life, from serving in the Armed Forces to doing well in bodybuilding, powerlifting and arena football...now here comes one of my most challenging ventures yet....professional fighting.

My background is fairly limited, consisting of military combatives (Gracie Jiu Jitsu), wrestling and some bar fighting (typical). However, with the discipline I have gaining over being in physical sports all my adult life and having the capacity to push myself, I feel I have a decent foundation to build skills upon.

0715181310.jpg

My training will be focused on boxing, taekwondo and jiu jitsu, with emphasis on developing my endurance and flexibility. Boxing will be my first "pro card" while I develop my MMA skills.

Stay tuned for workouts, progress, matches and other exciting updates on my journey!

Sort:  

Are you suuuuuure getting hit in the head is good idea (he said with a smile)?

Can't hurt much up there anymore! How you been stranger?

Posted using Partiko Android

Been kind of a rough summer on a couple fronts, but by the grace of God, we are hanging on. You been down to the lake fishing yet? Sometime when you are at the lake and all the fish catching is done give me a buzz and we'll have a so-so margarita and some mediocre mexican in the big "city."

We should definitely meet up. You can text or call anytime my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Try out some Muay Thai as well man, developed so many great skills in that discipline when I used to fight, but I chose that over Taekwondo, in addition to the standard boxing and BJJ. So your call, but I highly recommend! Best of luck with your upcoming boxing fight card!

Muay Thai is excellent, however my resources are limited to get hands on that. I'm going to belt with taekwondo in combo with boxing and jiu jitsu ....probably train in that later maybe

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah I hear you. Well Taekwondo is solid man. Best of luck out there, tear it up!

...will you be posting on some bar fighting strategies too?

Sure, I don't see why not. Most will cover sport fighting, but my jiu jitsu is street.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m very much teasing. I am curious how you plan to take your readers through this journey to a professional boxing career and eventually MMA...

I read the words ‘limited experience’, so I wondered what was the chances of success and what time frame am I looking at before I could say:

I was there in the beginning! I knew that guy, I saw him train from a nobody!

And yeah, a couple of lessons learnt from a bar fight are always entertaining, but maybe not for you.

Just passing through and curious. :)

I am scheduled to fight here in a few months in a smaller boxing bout. So its already in the works. I'm looking at pro in boxing in less than a year. MMA I'm not sure...depends on how my sparring goes and my trainers

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98