You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Volatile Topics Over Dinner?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

This would be a tough topic to determine how to respond to appropriately in a dinner party atmosphere. Cryptogee's idea of "How did that make you feel?" is brilliant.

I've had a few of these kinds of moments in person and on social media in the past few years, usually centered around US politics --- discrimination, immigration, and environmental policies specifically (although there are more). The current political climate has emboldened people to voice opinions that would have otherwise been deemed inappropriate and kept under wraps, pre-Trump.

Up until a few months ago I would express my opinions more freely but have taken the stance of not wanting to expend energy trying to convince anyone else of my point of view when they aren't open minded enough to listen. Some of the rhetoric I hear in public these days is unbelievably hate/fear-filled, antiquated, and stirs up major deja-vu. The US is so incredibly divided now, it reminds me in some ways of the decades leading up to the Civil War.

Sort:  

I agree, @cryptogee's suggestion is a very good one and I imagine it can have an opening impact on a potentially divisive situation.

I too have witnessed so many tricky interactions and disagreements in person and in cyberspace and they always throw me for a loop. It's a miracle when civil discourse can happen but so essential! We need to connect as humans more than ever and so many of us are silenced in the face of the spite that's out there.

One on one we have a better chance of connecting and hearing each other but it's a mine field. It frightens me when I know no one is speaking when everyone is uncomfortable, as you 've said this is dejavu from very scary times in history.

Thanks for your comment and insights, good to know we are all in it together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91