A delayed celebration grill session with my Dad. Ribeye from the green egg with a cheeky whiskey.

in #life6 years ago

Last week my dad was cleared for another year after we visited the hospital.

He left for his house up north straight away leaving us no time to celebrate.

I went to Makro today with Bianca and while there I called him up asking if he was up for a small grill session.

YES! He sure was.

So I bought a nice ribeye (bulk) at Makro and perhaps a whiskey bottle fell in the basket to...


IMG_1650.jpg


Bianca was in charge of the mash and green beans but she wanted to rest for a bit upstairs.

I decided to take the time to prep all the ingredients in advance and my dad joined me in the kitchen.

The dire straits Alchemy album was playing in the background.

I bought this ribeye from Argentina.

Most of the time I buy meat in bulk and freeze it. It's much cheaper.

I cut 3 steaks for us to use right then and there and the rest I put in freezer bags for another time.


IMG_1649.jpg


I also peeled all the potatoes and preped the green beens.

While doing that my dad was telling me stories about his business and and a major bug he solved.

We also talked about Steem and the The steem dollar and the current high price.

We were having a good time.


IMG_1652.jpg


Bianca came downstairs and took over. She was going to make the mash and the green beans.

My dad and I went outside.

Halfway I came across whiskey bottle....how could that be.....

I grabbed two glasses cause it was bloody cold and while lighting the green egg the sound of two glasses clinging together could be heard in the neighbourhood.

It took a while for the green egg to reach the right temperature so there might have been a delayed echo 10 minutes later...


IMG_1654.jpg


The meat cooked really fast and even though it was dark I think I know sort of when it's done nowadays.

I took the steaks of and wrapped them in aluminium foil and brought them inside.

5 minutes later I cut in the steak. O, yes!


IMG_1659.jpg


Bianca was also ready with the green beans and the mash and it was time plate up.


IMG_1662.jpg


Maybe not a 100% a steemfat3 meal today but it was worth it, including the whiskey.

To often you hear stories of people saying I wish spend more time with...

Today I did not make that mistake.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Wow, this is really good exyle.

You know what? I live in hostel and after living away from my home for studies, now I feel like the best time is that what you spend with your family, so try to spend as much as you could time with your father and try to talk to him. Discuss things.

yo vivo lejos de mis padres y realmente cuando puedo hago tambien unas parrilladas para comer en familia.. eso es importante, saludos

Precious moments are priceless.
Mostly with your dad, it is enjoyable.
You guys are notable with your cooking.
Keep on steemin'

nice post friend celebrating party with dad cool .

Glad to see grill session is back after a long time...Steak and green beans looks amazingly colorful and delicious...Cheers!

@exyle Yes anytime you can you should spend time with your parents. I know I was never that close to my parents but I am sure it would have been better to have spent time than not................

"and perhaps a whiskey bottle fell in the basket to..." those kinds of things happen to me too

I know right! terrible, lol :)

by the way, I've put a green egg on my wish list. You've given me a ton of inspiration. Your creations are scrumptious

One thing I know. You won't regret it! :)

me gusta mucho ver a la gente que son asi de familiares

The food looks really good but seriously I hate green beans. Guess I ate it too much when I was little that I just got to hate it. The meat looks half done. Still looks raw in the center but since you said it's done ,I will agree with you coz you ate it and I didn't ...lolzz

Say me hy to your dad...how is mum, the crypto Queen?

Haha, I guess you don't like your meat medium/rare. My mom is coming home Sunday.

Yea sure man. It's nice to always make out time for family. I was just on the phone with mum and dad some minutes ago. Haven't seen them in almost a year. But am making plans to get on the road soon. I don't wanna say some day in the future: I wish I had more time with....

BTW You have your dad's face.

BTW You have your dad's face.

I hope it will be a while though before I have his forehead :)

Also, I hope you see your parents soon!

Hey @exyle, you make a wonderful son. I'm sure your father is so proud of having you.

Please enjoy him when you can..

My dad is sick and he lives in the Caribbean, I wish I could be next to him 😔

Oh man. Sorry about that. I pray he gets well soon. Stay strong man. Wish him a quick recovery

Hehe, I am trying to think if there are many that could say no when asked if they are up for a small grill session, and then you add whisky!

It's so true, people make that mistake of not spending time with someone and then regret, best to not make that mistake!

Are you a whisky man too?

your delayed celebration really nice.you really enjoy doing this moment with your father.your preparing potato and green beans very yammy.i hope you good time spending of your father with whiskey bottle.its very nice memories in your life.thank u very much for your good post sharing of good day.. @exyle

thank u very much for ur good post with your father.. @exyle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94