Okra and ground beef with rice and beans.

in #life6 years ago

I just got back from my second gym session this week.

On the positive side, that is already a fifty percent increase over last week!

On the negative side, it was a leg day and my goodness it hurts.

I should probably have taken it a little easier.

But the most amazing feat is that Steemfat3 is getting some traction.

I can feel it.

What also helped was the meal Bianca and I had today.

Ever since I met her I have been introduced to some amazing new food.

Okra is one of them and probably one of the more bizarre ones. (remember: I grew up with potatoes and mostly spinach, my sister wouldn't eat anything else)

It's delicious but it has this slight slimy property that I find really interesting :)

Let's cook!


Snapseed 10.jpg


Ingredients: Okra, rice, ground beef, garlic and a red onion. (beans not in the pic).


Snapseed 3.jpg


Cut the garlic and onions and put them in a skillet with a little oil and salt. This blue skillet I bought second hand online about 2 years ago. It's one of my favorite pans. It's cast-iron. Will last a lifetime. No reason to buy one new.


Snapseed.jpg

Snapseed 2.jpg


After a couple of minutes add the ground beef and brown it.


Snapseed 5.jpg

Snapseed 6.jpg


While the beef is cooking cut the Okra. Take off the top and cut in small rings.


Snapseed 4.jpg


When you are done, it looks like this.


Snapseed 8.jpg


Add the okra to the pot and cook and stir it for at least 15 minutes.


Snapseed 12.jpg

Snapseed 7.jpg


End Result: Ever since I tasted Okra for the first time not long ago I love it. Especially prepared in this way. It's flavorful and it has this cool texture with some sliminess (I don't how to word this so it sounds better). We added rice and beans to the dish. It's simple, yet healthy and yummy.


Snapseed 11.jpg





I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Dude, leg day is awesome!!! Especially the day after, when u wake up to go to the toilet and your legs give you a error 404- legs not found, and u can't move

Sounds awesome. Have you ever tried Bison? Great way to get the most out of red meat, fight cancer, and keep lean. Keep it up man.

Most green vegetables are not tasting good in the mouth.
Okra is one of them.
The health benefits is huge and anything with meat should be good to eat.
I have to say. The simple way you cook will make me cook now.
I did start last week and I intend to keep it going.
Keep on steemin’

The okra seriously caught my attention. I really miss having okra. I grew up in SE Texas right on the border of Louisiana. We often had okra in the grocery store. We would cut okra up and coat it in lower and cornmeal mix then fry it. I now live in Arizona an no okra here. I haven't tried it with ground beef and onions. If I can get my hands on some okra, I'll have to try it that way.

Erm.... I've not really tried this okra combination before (using okra to cook this way).

I only use okra for preparing okra soup which I eat with garri or fufu - ask any Nigerian about it lol 😂

But as a lover of good food, I'll definitely try this one out cus it really looks yummy and I'm salivating already.


Thanks for sharing this wonderful food and cooking story.

Happy Steeming

Hahahahaha. Yea, that's the one we know. Had it for dinner today. Well, its always good to learn new system, you never can tell.

Excuse me if I am really ignorant, but I cook for a living, and I got curious, and was looking into garri and fufu recipes, when it seemed to me that it was like bland "mashed potatoes", but then it occurred to me, this is like an edible eating utensil isn't it, Like using chips to eat a dip?

For me Okra is a totally new ingredient that I never used before Bianca introduced it to me. I only know this way. Okra soup sounds nice I'll look it up!

OK. Try it and you'll love it

Maybe when you are on vacation

You can visit Nigeria

I would prepare a nice Okra soup with eba (cassava flakes that is colloidal from the addition of hot water) maybe beef and smoked fish
And bottle of cocacola to wash it down

Oh man, that sounds yummy!

Great dish. Looks like a delicious dinner.

If you want to be hard-core and get some more protein and fiber you should try brown rice :P every little bit of protein helps
Haven't heard of okra before, but it looks very healthy.

I'm really agree with you ;
#FOLLOWBACK for all steemer .
Lets support together @hansal

begging for followers is not cool and will get you flagged.

Steemit is a great platform whereby you get to meet people and their different interesting culture. In Nigeria we use Okra basically to make soup. Its like an abominable act to mix it up with something else. I think i like what it looks like! Maybe I'm gonna try it out and tell people i got it from steemit, courtesy @exyle. There's dynamism in culture.

I'm Canadian, I've always eat okra raw because it get slimy when cooked. Is it enjoyed raw where you are?

Hahaha... Different stroke for different folks! We enjoy it when cooked because of it slimy nature. Though I've seen people eat it raw because of their voice,singers particularly but, its a foreign culture. Nice meeting you @zastels

Hi @exyle ,

Ziet er weer geweldig uit man.. top!
Ik vind het echt knap van je dat je iedere dag zulke mooie blogs kan maken en geweldig hoe je dat doet.

Fijne avond en tot morgen!

IMG_5312.PNG

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED

Mehn @exyle we eat okra a lot in Nigeria and I would say these okra you used ain't fresh. The fresh ones are often pure green and soft. We use it to make okra soup and we call the soup "draw soup" coz it's extreme slimmy.

I am suprised hearing you having okra for the first time but I guess it's coz you don't find much of it over there like you would here so ur excused (lolzz) . The dish looks quite appetizing. Mind if I have a taste?

Yeah, it's not a vegetable you would find in a regular supermarket here. I'll try to look out for 'fresher' okra next time. I had no clue :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64