Vlog 253: Busy.org v2.4 + @guard fight against phishing attacks.

in #life6 years ago


Busy.org v.2.4 has been released.

For those that don't know. Busy.org is another front end (besides steemit.com) to access the steem blockchain.

It's full of new and awesome features.

You can read about all of them here.

My personal favorites: Notifications on the website.

Check them out:


Screen Shot 2018-03-22 at 11.00.30.png


Notifications help you keep track of what's happening on your blog and it makes for a way more interactive experience on the blockchain.

Fight against Phishing


User @anyx build a new tool to help us against phishing attacks.

It's called Guard here.

From the post:

@guard instead searches for the phishing links themselves, and presents a warning any time one is detected. Despite attackers attempts to hide phishing links (such as with link shorteners), @guard will still catch them.

This is what the warning looks like:


Screen Shot 2018-03-22 at 11.24.47.png


I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yesterday I was reading about Busy on steemit and I was like yeah it has one cool feature and the front end is different so you know you can have a change while using steemit.
Yes, we will have to be careful about the hacking attempts. I know someone who's account got stollen but then he registered the complain and got his account back, though he lost his SBD's.

I have been using busy.org for awhile now and It has been a first class experience. The introduction of @guard is a great feature to fight phishing,my question though is how do we incorporate it with our accounts.I found no mention of it on their post.

This is definitely a good news. I use busy.org front even more than steemit.com and so far, the experience has been rewarding. I hope the new version will bring greater experiences

Busy.org v really has been realeased.its another front access the steem blockchain.its full new and new feautures for all steemians friend.you are a experiencd person and always giving new idea of sttem matter.its really very important for me.today i have got a new information to read your post.i respect doing for all orginal and great work sir..good job sir..@exyle

Hmm. I've always been extremely critical of the Steemit UI. And I was critical of Busy, too.

But I must admit that Busy took a step forward.

I'm Finnish, though, so I can't be too positive and complimentary here. But let's just say that it could be worse, hah.

Let's see if I switch to Busy full time.

I'm Finnish, though, so I can't be too positive and complimentary here.

LOL! That's ok man, this is already way up there :)

What happened to the "busy-boost" ?
Do you know?
Allthough small, it was always nice to get a few cents worth of a like from them for using the platform

It seems to be working again now @cryptocatz, since the new update. Give it a try! 😊

Oh really?
Thank you, I will ,
I was just curious as to what happened to it,
haven't been recieving any boosts for weeks,
It might be small, but sure helps with the visability factor, thank you very much,
Will test later on and post my findings back here🤗

I didn't get any boosts for ages either @cryptocat. In fact I stopped using the tag. But after the update I tried again and, hey presto, I got a boost! 😁 Hoorah!

that's odd @cyptocatz. I'm not getting many, about one every two or three days but I cam getting some. Do the people following you have a collective SP of more than 500. I know you need that to get a boost and you have to post via busy.org of course and use the tag. 😊

I meet all requirements
Will keep trying, thanks for your reply
To be continued ...
🤗

There's a little issue with the @guard approach. I recently had an encounter when I tried to warn a new user about this phishing links but instead my comment was flagged and considered as a scam. Even after anyx noticed that the flagging was in error, nothing was done to remove the downvotes. I made some suggestions about it in a post and hope the owners of these bot gets to read it and implement them.

How come? Did you warn the new user because he uses phishing links, or just to remind him to stay away from phishing links? Maybe he was the one who flagged you. In that case, it shouldn't matter.

It was a mistake on my part as I use posted the warning with the website, the bot is not configured to separate warnings from real threat.

I saw @anyx post yesterday about the phising guard, absolutely it's amazing, I mean these phising scammers have devised a whole new method of cheating people, just like building a scam site that looks like the one we use everyday.
I guess people needs to really see the post and see how this guard can be enabled,
You've done a Fantastic job if crowdsourcing it.
Amazing blog

I'm been using busy.org for majority of my posts now. I also noticed that they have a notifications icon. There I can see who followed and comments on my post.

This is my favorite platform so far. ^^

Finally there is something which is handling all these sorts of phishing attacks that is great the attempts were on huge rise finally it will get lower :D and busy is doing some busy works cool updates

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91