Watching Star Wars in Dolby Cinema 3D with Ben and Bianca. I love 3D now!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I just got back from watching the new Star Wars!

Ben and I are both huge Star Wars fans but we had to postpone the movie a couple of time due to personal stuff.

Our local movie theater has been under construction for a while.

They have been building 2 new rooms.

One for 4DX and the other for Dolby Cinema 3D.

They finished everything just in time for Star Wars.

Tonight we saw it in Dolby Cinema 3D with Bianca. (no spoilers)

It was awesome!

I have a new found love for 3D!


IMG_8209.jpg


Before the movie we went for drinks and some food. You simply can't watch Star wars on an empty stomach. I would even say that considering its almost 3 hours long it's vital to eat before the movie.


IMG_8197.jpg


We also had some fun in the arcade (we had some extra time to burn) that's near the cinema. We played pinball and we also played a new game today called Ghostbusters.


IMG_8233.JPG


Bianca and I have free passes for the cinema but for Cinema 3D they added an extra fee of $5 (glasses included). The entrance to the movie room is great. They made it a 'small experience' with moving images on the wall before entering the room.


IMG_8215.jpg

IMG_8216.jpg


They give you 3D glasses inside. Normally 3d glasses are flimsy and small but with cinema 3D you get real glasses. They are big too. The easily fit over the glasses I'm already wearing. Very comfortable.


IMG_8222.jpg


Before the movie starts you get the usual stuff.

Commercials and then the trailers. (Avengers: Infinity War looking forward to that now!)

But then! Then they show you a small preview video of what Cinema 3D is capable of.

Contrast wise it's unmatched. Black is 'real' black. The colors are extremely vibrant too.

And it's very sharp. I noticed it straight away.

But the best thing. The 3D effect works so much better. These glasses and with this screen I had not had my eyes go out of focus once. It just felt natural. Like you could 'look' inside the screen (like it was a box).

And then the sound!

They put endless amounts of speakers all around you. And they give a demo with all kinds of different sounds effects.

It really adds something special.

In fact. I don't want to go to any other 3D movie experience anymore. I happily pay the extra fee.

The movie itself. Awesome. I have no words. I enjoyed it from start to finish.

I can recommend giving this movie and this Cinema 3D experience a try!

I loved it.

Ben went home straight away because tonight we decided to be wise men and not open a bottle of wine :)



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Cool experience !! You know you brought an idea back to my head.
Three hours that's a long-métrage.
Yeah movie theather is good for the experience and family and togetherness.

You got me at 4DX. What's that? It sounds amazing, I like the cinema 3d glasses as well because they are big enough to go over the normal glasses easily which was always a worry!

Blatenly copied from Wikipedia: 4DX allows a motion picture presentation to be augmented with environmental effects such as seat motion, wind, rain, fog, lights, and scents along with the standard video and audio.

In other words awesome. lol. Not sure if a full stomach would be a good idea though.

That is awesome, I instantly thought of a pirate ship on the high seas!

I am going to see if there are any getting built here!

Hi @exyle love your vlogs on dtube! Just had a quick question when using dtube, are you able to use bots to help upvote your dutbe videos? I am newer to this platform and when I try to copy my dtube URL it does not seem to work for the bots. Any help would be appreciated, or if anyone else knows?

Sincerely,
@joeparys

I don't use bots.

Nice ok gotcha 👌👌

It's been quite a while since I've actually watched a movie in the theater. This is mainly due to the rise of online streaming services such as Netflix. Why go the à theater when you can watch a movie in the comfort of your own house? Right? (wrong) The 3D experience is always great. I remember when I watched a 3D movie in the theater for the first time. It was really impressive but after two full hours of movie the glasses were quite uncomfortable and I suffered from a little headache. Seems like the technology has evolved since then.

2D or 3D nothing beats the big screen and the sound of cinema for me. It's also a nice way for me to forget all the things I think about for a while :)

I saw it last night! I didn't get to see it in 3D though. It's pretty amazing how far 3D movies have come. I remember some of the first 3D movies I saw only had parts of the movie that were sort of 3D gimmicks, now they can really make you feel like you're in the middle of the scene.

For me this was next gen 3d :)

@exyle Are there any Brand New Characters in this episode ?? I am not asking to spoil the movie I am just curious if they were rolling out another Jar Jar Binks ......

I can't say. I don't do spoilers :)

hahah good @exyle that we cannot see the star wars with empty stomich mean u enjoy it full lol and the with that glasses it give u more enjoy is this the market down party man

Excellent looks a great movie to watch this weekend You guys had lot of fun :D awesome time to enjoy holiday's and avengers can't miss out on that one for sure that will be epic too :)

@exyle I know the feel man! It's like you're inside a digital box. From now on you will only want to watch 3D stuff! And yeah, it's always better if you have a beer or two first!
By the way I've seen this movie in 3D and I can definitely relate!

Cheers!

Wow, a great walk my friend, the fact that you visited the new film "Star Wars" is amazing, since I, too, am a great admirer of this famous saga. I can only imagine what kind of feeling you had when watching in the new 3D format and what realistic special effects this movie had. Well done! Thank you @exyle and keep us informed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70