Retro Video Gaming is Where It's at, Baby!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Growing up from my primary school days right up to a fully fledged university student, console gaming had always been high on my list of extracurricular activities. Owning almost every games machine from the Atari 2600 upwards into the mid 2000's, my love of pixelated joypad bashing (does that sound right?) provided for some genuinely treasured memories when looking back.

retro-consoles-retro-gaming.jpg

However, for what ever reason, I got into other things and missed out on a whole back catalog of incredible titles from yesteryear that I never got around to playing. And this all resurfaced because of Capcom! Last month, they released the phenomenally received Resident Evil 2, a ground-up remake of the Playstation One classic. And the thing was, I'd never played any of the others apart from the first game. So given how amazing the new game looks, I thought I'd try out the original first. And damn, I'm I glad I did!

The first Resident Evil 2 is an absolute masterpiece! I had no idea how much fun it is and have already clocked it twice to get all the different endings. So screw it, I thought. Why not try some of the other games I'd not checked out back then when I had the chance. After all, because I worked my way up through almost every era of gaming, I can appreciate the graphics of old too. And before I knew it, I'm neck high in a plethora of great titles that are about to be given the justice they deserve.

I'm currently playing Resdient Evil 3, which is also really good and right after that project is done and dusted, RPG madness is about to kick in hard. I've got all those gems in queue and gonna make my way through them all. Some of the titles include Final Fantasy VIII, IX, X... Chrono Trigger, the original Xenogears and Vagrant Story, to name but a few. I'm done with movies and TV for now (except for the upcoming final season of GoT, of course).

The only problem is the wife. I'm sure she'll be my real life arch nemesis when it comes to letting me play this shit in peace, lol. Oh well, let all the battles commence. I'm ready for whatever challenges I may face. :)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

lol "yesteryear"
I also grew up on console and handheld gaming.
The first thing I had was a Gameboy,
then it was the Nintendo 64. Best Console ever, ugh so many good times.
I used to always beat my uncle in Madden. It would get to the point where he would forcefully make me let him win/ or catch up., by pulling all my madden players to the left while he ran the ball to the touchdown. Ugh I could go on but imma keep it short.
Awesome post @ezzy
Was a fun one to read.
I can't wait to play the new Resident evil remake! The original was really dope. soooo yeah :P

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 9.15% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I have been playing on a NES Classic a family member has and it brought me back so many memories! Playing Zelda again was incredible! I may have to get one myself!

Posted using Partiko iOS

There aren't many games that I would play again... Probably the halo franchise, the fable franchise, some Final Fantasies (VII, X and XII), I need to download pre-historik 2, I loved that game when I was a kid, need to replay it, Gears of War, the early Call of Duties, and I think that's it... I mainly played MMORPGs and I can't replay those I think xD
I'm in a movie and tv show phase right now, watching Gotham, will watch the Nightflyers after (it has something to do with George RR Martin so u should check it out if u like GoT), Sex Education too, and got 2 or 3 more TV shows on standby to watch, letting the episodes pile on to binge watch them xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85