You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The era of tolerance. Why is a black actress in “The Little Mermaid” infuriating everyone?

in #life5 years ago

I definitely think this post tells truth. I had someone tell me they won't watch the new Aladdin movie because he is not white! My reply was "uuuum did you not realize where this movie even takes place??? That's ridiculous!"

That was one of the most annoying sentences I've ever heard. And I hope to hear things like that less and less!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That really happened?? 😂😭
OMG, people can be so short-sighted...

I know I can't believe it either!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is utterly lame. ugh that is just irritating LOL

Very very lame 😔

Posted using Partiko Android

Hell!! I know this story. When I was sitting in the hall at the premiere of "Aladdin", the couple who sat behind me constantly laughed and resented that Princess Jasmine was "not beautiful" and suitable for this role. Aladdin himself is “some kind of Hindu,” and Jin is terrible, it's “that black actor, but now he is blue.”
The whole impression from the view is spoiled because of these cues from behind.

Oh that is the worst. People can be so closed minded, it gets irritating. I haven't seen it yet but I know I won't base it on the Walt Disney version of it as it makes no sense. Why would they make the people in Aladdin white in the cartoon when obviously they ar not? But then it's ok for Mulan to be Asian. Walt Disney made a mess of a lot of the stories. Pocahontas was changed a lot as well. In the cartoon she fell in love with John Smith. Well I'm true story, at that time "Pocahontas" ( means spoiled child or brat. Not her true name) was a child, too young for John Smith. They were just food friends. Later on she married his brother. Guessing that's why they made the second movie of Pocahontas to rectify their "mistake". I haven't watched it so I can't say too much. I just know she had a hard time in the new world. She has children and this is where things get fuzzy in my memory. Not sure if she had a child that died... Anyways I believe Pocahontas got sick so decided to return home and died on the way there. Something like that.

So people watch these movies as kids and believe that's how the stories go. So who is to blame in all their judgments?? Well a lot of people actually.

It is because of these moments that I sometimes watch movies at home and not in cinemas) Sometimes I can’t stand just such comments from the side)
Have you already seen the new trailer for the movie "Mulan"? It seems that they approached this issue thoroughly, because the actress playing the main role is a Chinese woman)))

No I haven't. I didn't even know for the mermaid 😒

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59121.51
ETH 2993.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78