You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The invisible people

in #life6 years ago

As someone who's currently dealing with homelessness, this speaks volumes to me. It's refreshing to see people in the world who care, and don't reserve judgement onto others.

My story is similar to so many others, joined the service at a young age, came out an alcoholic, found myself under a bridge one day, and life has been a struggle ever since. Ten years it has taken me, this battle with addiction and homelessness.

Today I'm fortunate enough to have two years of sobriety, and a veterans program is currently working with me to help with housing, maintenance of my sobriety, and vocational rehab to assist me with potential jobs. See there aren't too many jobs available for trained killers. The governments don't always think this through (or care), but there are programs emerging, and being reconstructed to help homeless individuals, especially in the veteran sector.

I have to take responsibility to my errors, it was the only way to me to become sober, but it's possible if you put your mind to it, and there is help out there for homeless people, just not enough of it.

I'm very grateful to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I should have an apartment within 60 days. It's been a long ride, but there is hope.

I always give a homeless person the change in my pocket, (I don't bother to tell them I'm also homeless because it has no bearing) and a smoke, for I know their struggle, and regardless if they are going to use drugs with that money or not, it's the THOUGHT, that someone cares, that may lead them to the idea that they can rid themselves of the shackles of their addiction.

Thank you for this article. To me, it means something, and I thank you for it. I hope others in the world, will start to see things the way you do.

Much love.

Sort:  

Congrats on your two years of sobriety and for finding the strength to put yourself together and not giving up! It takes courage and a tremendous amount of efforts to go through what you have been through! Although you may not see it, you are an inspiration! ;-)

Thank you @lymepoet that made me a little teary eyed. You're appreciated, and an inspiration to me as well. It's people like you who helped me through it. I can feel you have a kind soul. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86