Feeling the buzz

in #life5 years ago

We all get excited from time to time and about all sorts of different things. Some get a buzz out of purchasing new things, achieving a goal or particular result, gaining a promotion at work or any number of other things that set the heart racing. I don't think there's any rules around it...People just get a buzz out of whatever it is that makes them feel that way. That's how it should be.

I'm no different and over the years have had a lot of things to get excited about both from an acquisition perspective and an over all achievement perspective.

Over that time I've found I get a buzz out of different things. You know, growing up changes one's perspective and things that seemed so important in my 20's seem less so now and of course some of the things that get my heart racing now never even came across my radar in my early years.

Again, that's how it's supposed to be I guess...Time brings with it different priorities, opportunities and challenges and whilst it won't always bring wisdom that tends to be a byproduct of time, or should I say age. With wisdom, or shall we just call it a changed perspective, people get excited about different things. Agreed?

For me, I tend to get more of a buzz out of living my best life than acquiring a thing these days and more of a buzz out of being the best version of myself. These things are important and I know that if I'm hitting those marks then other areas of my life will travel along nicely. Sure, I buy things, go places and get a great buzz from the hobbies do however if the live my best life aspect isn't right, if the be the best version of me goal is not hit then those other things diminish in value.

Do you see that image? I took that the other day in the Barossa Valley which is only a stones throw from the small town in which I grew up. I recall one ill-fated day as a kid being dared by one of the neighbour-kids to grasp onto an electric fence, not unlike this one, and see how long I could hold on. Fortunately these days we don't have to go to such extremes for a little buzz...We can simply be our best selves, show courtesy, respect and manners towards others, be generous, humble and kind, show ownership and responsibility and apply all these things towards living our best lives...It's the sort of buzz that sticks around a lot longer than the buzz gained from the repetitive cycle of consumerism, that's for sure.

Oh, you may be wondering what happened to me that day...The notorious Galen grabbed an electric fence day...Well, I grabbed it and it hurt like fuck! At first I couldn't let go as my hand involuntarily tensed but I managed to break contact and leap away from the fence. Remember I was talking about time bringing wisdom above? Well, grabbing electric fences brings wisdom too, very quickly. Since then I have been wise enough not to touch another one. But don't let my experience deter you. Go try it out for yourself...The wisdom it may bring you could be priceless.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

You are absolutely right, with age our views on life change, what seemed very serious and important before, then it seems insignificant. This is natural, because a person becomes wiser with age. I like publications where there are elements of philosophy, only this way you can learn how to think correctly. I really liked your post. Thank you very much

Thanks @yuriy4, I appreciate your comment. Yes, age can bring wisdom, but not always. Depends on how the individual responds to the experiences life offers and throws up. Some people, no matter what experiences they have, never seem to learn, gain wisdom and make changes. And yet others do.

Grabbing electric cattle fences is not something most people would want to do twice...I can still remember the way my body locked up...Didn't feel good at all. So, I gained some wisdom. Yet, others might go back for seconds...

Good comment mate, thanks very much.

Posted using Partiko Android

I quite enjoy being mildly electrocuted, ever since the infamous staple incident when I was 8. I wonder if there is some kind of "therapy" where electrocution is used.... :D

Tens therapy. Some physiotherapists use it. Runs through a pattern of electric shocks that increase in frequency to throw the muscle into spasm, and confuse the nerve endings in the area. Forced endorphins and red blood cells to the site to help promote the reduction of inflammation.

It feels weird at first, but its quite therapeutic!

I know a few people I’d like to administer that too...I’d do it a little differently though...Electric fence would feature prominently...

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can buy the tiny, under powered versions of these machines from most chemists / pharmacies. Only takes a bit of imagination to make them become far too overpowered. There's a fine line between electric fence and electric chair, though... :D
Posted with

Haha! Yeah, thanks for the reminder...Or was that a challenge?

Posted using Partiko iOS

What is it with the KP's mate...Love us a bit of electrocution huh? Maybe that's why we're so damned adorable...The extra bit of electricity coursing through us?

No therapy required...Electrocution is the therapy!

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ah the old electric fence trick, my dad said pick a blade of grass hold it between thumb and finger and touch the other end on the fence to check if it was live or not. The grass would reduce the amount of shock you would get.

Posted using Partiko Android

If only I knew that trick...I copped the full brunt of it. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.416 which ranks you at #2216 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2213).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 197 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 6.20% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97