You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Digging for Magic in the Chat Pack

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I should begin my reply by first thanking @donkeypong for bringing up these, frankly speaking, brilliant prompts. The beautiful thing about prompts is that one is forced, or even arm-twisted, into looking at subjects one would have ordinarily ignored. Whether we like it or not, prompts awake the giants in us.

Having said this, I am tempted to comment on all the five prompts in this post but that would be an attempt at overtaking the original post. So, I will only comment on my favourite prompt, which is:

(2) If you were a teacher, what is one book you would insist that your whole class read?

Books are the leaves that never wither. I have read a couple of good books and would have loved to recommend all of them. I would love to recommend a great novel such as Achebe's Things Fall Apart which rewrites African history and chronicles the impact of colonialism on African values. But then again, everyone in my class may not be Africans.

So, what book will I pick? I will like to pick something general which will be more applicable to the students beyond the four walls of my classroom. So, what book will I pick?

I will pick How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie. The book contains some timeless lessons about making friends and influencing people. Since I have discovered over the years that most of the successes people make in life largely come from the strength of their influence not from their academic might, I would want my students to learn the priceless lessons behind making friends. I have applied some of the lessons in the book and they have worked 100%. Why shouldn't I recommend it to my students?

This is my answer. I trust it meets the reader well.

Regards.

Sort:  

I will have to look up that first book you mentioned, since I haven't read it. Dale Carnegie is a solid choice also.

It will be a great read, I trust. Things Fall Apart is the all time best selling book written by an African. It is a novel.

Regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69033.32
ETH 3748.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67