Digging for Magic in the Chat Pack

in #life6 years ago

YeatsMagic.jpg

The questions are random and the answers are from the heart. This is my second Chat Pack post. If you’ve never heard of these packs, they feature a set of cards that are printed with various random questions. These are meant to be ice breakers, conversation starters, teaching tools, table topics for short speeches, or used for whatever purpose you want. In short, they are meant to light sparks that kindle something greater.

Used as the basis of a post, these questions force me to explore topics I would not otherwise have considered. That prompts me to write in new directions earn new things, and even consider new perspectives. For this post, I drew five cards at random. Here are my answers. Feel free to respond in the comments below: how would you answer these questions?

(1) If you could take any landmark or geographical feature from another part of the world and move it to the area where you live, what would you choose?

How about a desert oasis with a tropical island in the middle of it? And let’s put a monument on that island. This might seem like tasteless, nouveau-riche stuff, but I’d love my own Mayan temple. It should be made of real stones, not that plastic junk they use at amusement parks. Without meaning any disrespect towards the culture or religion that created these structures, climbing up and down a Mesoamerican step pyramid offers a great workout and an even better view.

ChichenMexicoArchaeology.jpg
El Castillo (Temple of Kukulcan) at Chichen Itza. From Mexicoarchaeology.com.

El Castillo at Chichen Itza in Mexico is probably the most famous of these pyramids because of its proximity to the vacation destination of Cancun. More properly known as the Temple of Kukulcan, it has 91 steps on each of its four sides. When you add those together and include the top step surrounding the temple in its center, that’s 365 steps. The altitude gain is about 80 feet from the ground to the top of those steps. That’s better exercise than many gyms can offer.

(2) If you were a teacher, what is one book you would insist that your whole class read?

I’m tempted to recommend The Man Who Planted Trees by Jean Giono. I wrote a post about it once. This is the story of a man who has lost in life, but then dedicated himself to doing one simple thing that changes his whole region: planting trees. For many years, he goes out each day to plant trees and it alters the landscape. The book is tiny, but it has great wisdom. Short, sweet, and simple.

But no, I would not blow this chance on such a short, simple book. It’s too important of an opportunity. If I could choose one book for a whole class to read, it would need to be an important piece of literature which speaks to everyone. You could not go wrong with anything by Shakespeare, Steinbeck, Homer, the Brontes, Joyce, Twain, Tolstoy, Garcia Marquez, Dickens, and other great authors…but in choosing just one book, I’d prefer to temper the risk that there may be someone who does not connect with that particular work.

Whitman.jpg
Walt Whitman. Or is that Gandalf?

So I’d choose something that had multiple facets. Not knowing the level or interest of this class of students, this strategy also would appeal to impatient readers. I’m thinking of a collection of poems or stories, perhaps, which incorporates some diverse subjects. For poetry, I’d choose something accessible yet profound, perhaps Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass collection or an anthology of William Butler Yeats’ poems. The Norton Anthology would be great, but too broad; you might as well choose Webster’s Dictionary instead. Beyond poetry, I’d try the 1001 Nights collection of stories or Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales.

1001nights.jpg

1001_Night_cigarettes_tin.JPG

Iranian artist's depiction of 1001 Nights. Scheherazade cigarettes. Public domain.

In the end, I think I’d go with 1001 Nights. Fun to read, bringing together the wisdom of several cultures, and it has everything. Really.

(3) If you could cover any food in chocolate just to see what it would taste like, what food would you choose?

I’ve tried chocolate covered ants before. They’re not that bad. The red ones have a spicy tang. I can think of some other things that I don’t want to eat. But coating almost anything in chocolate makes it more palatable. Chocolate-covered kale, anyone?

I want a dill pickle. “Big kosher pickle and a cold draught beer. Well, good god almighty, which way do I steer?” Sing it with me! “Dill pickle in cho-co-late” (to the tune of Cheeseburger in Paradise by Jimmy Buffett…with apologies). For a sweet ‘bread-n-butter’ pickle, I might pair it with milk chocolate, but a sharp dill pickle spear definitely wants a coating of dark chocolate, maybe even bittersweet. And hold the beer; I’ll take a glass of nonfat milk with my chocopickle. I might need to drink the whole glass.

(4) What is the most fun you’ve ever had doing something outside in the rain?

Do you really need to know? Ouch (wife kicked me). Okay, the answer is swimming. I love swimming in the rain. Swimming underwater, you realize that the fish don’t care whether or not it’s raining above. But breaking the surface of the water and feeling raindrops on your face is awesome. Yes, getting wet when you’re already wet is a lot of fun.

There’s a perfect song for swimming in the rain. It’s this one, but you have to change “singing” to “swimming”. The distinction blurs when you’re soaked to the bone and still loving it.


“Singing in the Rain” by Gene Kelly.

I’ve also gone surfing in the rain. When the wind is blowing offshore and you’re paddling out past the breaking waves, the spray on your face feels like a sheet of salty rain. On a rainy day, when the water and sky are both hazy and gray, it can be hard to know where one starts and the other begins. The elements merge and perhaps that’s the funnest part.

(5) In your opinion, what would be the most enjoyable thing about being a dog or cat?

Can I vote for “and” instead of “or”? I’d like to answer this question for both dogs and cats, since the two are different. The most enjoyable thing about being a dog would be sleeping anytime, anyplace. Just lie down on the ground and go for it. My dog is fortunate enough to have a home and a family who loves him. Other than wondering when his next meal is coming, barking at skateboarders, and being slightly afraid of the pooch next door who is big enough to kick his ass, he doesn’t have much to worry about. A dog like him has it pretty good. That’s the life.

And what about cats? There’s plenty of variation in individual cat personalities. But the average cat is wilder than the average dog. When you look in their feline eyes, there’s something primal just beneath the surface. Certain cats like to stay at home, but most need to roam their territory.

CatCCtomitapio.jpg
Tomcat on the prowl. Creative Commons via Flickr.com by Tomitapio.

If I were a cat, the most enjoyable thing would be going on a prowl in the dark of night. Just me and the owls and rats; we’d fight it out. Let me roam the neighborhood by the light of the moon. I’d run along fences, climb trees, jump onto rooftops, and generally keep an eye on the neighborhood like the boss I am. In the day, no one would know I’d been there. Sounds like fun.

Yeats was right about there being magic in the world

There is magic, waiting to be discovered. I know it’s there because I feel a spark of inspiration in exploring some of these topics. As with reading a new book or watching a new movie, forcing yourself to write about something new helps you sharpen your senses, unlocking the magic of new ideas. If you’re ever unsure what to write about for your next post, consider answering some random questions.

If you’re lucky, you’ll find a spark, and when you do, dig deeper. There lies the magic of discovery.

Chat Pack2.jpg
Chat Pack1.jpg
Chat Packs. I bought mine on Amazon.com for a few dollars.

Top image (Yeats quote) from Quotefancy.com.

Sort:  

If you could take any landmark or geographical feature from another part of the world and move it to the area where you live, what would you choose?

I'd choose the London Bridge every time. Structure is so beautiful that it gets me emotional

They did that with the old London Bridge (now in Lake Havasu, which is in the U.S.). They literally moved its pieces across the world and re-constituted it, though this bridge is not quite as nice looking as the newer one in London.

LondonBridge.jpg
Creative Commons via Wikimedia.com by Ken Lund.

Curious when people will get bored of phones and start to produce real art in terms of physical buildings and structures again. Like the photo above. Even if let's say we used robots to build it I don't think we would use as much heart and passion to beat the old structures that could take decades to finish. Talk about a deep level of satisfaction they must have felt finishing a structure like this! But nothing beats the European Churches... Just wow!

It's nice to learn this. I've never read about it. We learn something new everyday when we are at the right blog.

But I'm just wondering why they had to take that trouble. Couldn't all the engineers in the U.S just replicate the structure in their homeland? Or is there any particular significance of having to literally move the original bridge to the U.S? I'd like to know.

It does seem like too much trouble and work. They must have believed it would be a major tourist attraction. People visit it, but it can't be as popular as they had hoped when they moved the whole thing.

@donkeypong, That would be very interesting questions you ask from steemians and I wish to give answer below. I guess you'll interesting my answer. If not not upset with you.

(1) If you could take any landmark or geographical feature from another part of the world and move it to the area where you live, what would you choose?

Definitely I prefer to move both places of Czech Republic coz it has amazing architecture and such a beautiful landmarks.

(2) If you were a teacher, what is one book you would insist that your whole class read?

Firstly I tell you I'm not a teacher in fact. But If I am definitely suggest Think & grow rich of Napoleon Hill wrote. It has amazing thoughts for human growth.

(3) If you could cover any food in chocolate just to see what it would taste like, what food would you choose?

Definitely I selected Pudding with Fruits & nut ice cream and Watalappan in local choice.

(4) What is the most fun you’ve ever had doing something outside in the rain?

I reminded my childhood. Those days with under the rain condition I prefer to swim small pond very near my live village. Also I made paper boats and then goes through water fallen way.

(5) In your opinion, what would be the most enjoyable thing about being a dog or cat?

Both cat and dog animals has better reminder than humans. Some peoples forgotten their hard task period's who's stay with them. But Both animal not doing that. They loved their own boss.

T think I do my best. It created my heartiest thoughts. Thanks for inspiration me morning time here.

Those are good suggestions.

Lovely! Is there an online version of these cards? I'd very much like to use them but no dollars here in Venezuela, they're illegal to have and I can't buy stuff online.

Anyway, those cards look like a very nice collection of writing prompts! They aren't all based in fantastical scenarios with superheroes like on reddit's r/WritingPrompts but are instead very thoughtful and accessible for everyone and not just writers. Those you chose also bring a lot of very nice subjects for conversation, so you can use them in any situation.

As for the question about the book, I'm a bit mischievous myself, so I would probably have everyone read a funny book that teachers might not normally want anyone to read. Something perhaps from the middle ages whose author would be of questionable integrity. Reading weird stuff like that was what got me in shape for living the way I like.

I have a few tomes of the 1001 nights. My mom used to read them to me when we were little. I still have very fond memories of it and the stories in it. :)

They should have an online version; it's a good idea. If you look, you might find some similar site that lists a random questions and adds a new one each time you refresh the page. If not, we should built one.

oh @donkeypong is back 😍😍😍i miss his blog very much! thanks for coming!

I know if a similar and interesting pack. I kinda forgot the name right now but here’s the description. Contains words you can’t use to describe a particular words which you’re trying to let your team guess . No gestures are allowed .

In your opinion, what would be the most enjoyable thing about being a dog or cat?

I wouldn’t have to go to school, do laundry or do my home work lol

What is the most fun you’ve ever had doing something outside in the rain?

Danced in the rain while having a natural shower from above

If you could cover any food in chocolate just to see what it would taste like, what food would you choose?

I guess some toasted bread or some cheese 🧀 lol

If you were a teacher, what is one book you would insist that your whole class read?

Oliver Twist

If you could take any landmark or geographical feature from another part of the world and move it to the area where you live, what would you choose?

The Eiffel Tower.

Thanks for reading

You can have a real shower in the rain if you bring a bar of soap. :)

If you could take any landmark or geographical feature from another part of the world and move it to the area where you live, what would you choose?

the eiffel tower for his beauty.

If you were a teacher, what is one book you would insist that your whole class read?

the art of being respected by Schopenhauer

undoubtedly.

If you could cover any food in chocolate just to see what it would taste like, what food would you choose?

sweet corn with dark chocolate 75%

What is the most fun you’ve ever had doing something outside in the rain?

Take photos of everything, I like the cold colors and the sensation of calm.

In your opinion, what would be the most enjoyable thing about being a dog or cat?

be naked and do not judge for that, smell some asses. besides eating and sleeping all day
it would be great.

I like it. Will have to try the corn sometime, though I'll let my dog be the one to smell asses.

  1. I would move the "Salar de Uyuni" that is in Bolivia, such a beautiful place to visit.

  2. Would insist to read 1984 by George Orwell, really love that book and everyone should read it.

  3. I'll choose pizza, never tried a chocolate pizza hahahahaha.

  4. I like rain, but rain is a bitch, i slipped in my backyard and knocked my head so bad :(

  5. I love cats and dogs (but cats are the best), would be very enjoyable to hunt butterflies and mice.

"Salar de Uyuni" that is in Bolivia

I didn't know that one! Just googled it. So prettyyyy.

Great choices. Thanks for sharing!

awesome post. very intriguing. got me thinking about the rain. @lynncoyle1 and I in the heaviest downpour did a bar hop in mexico a few years ago......also I mentioned you in a thank you post....so very thankful....i had to do emergrncy dialysis so it helped....now just need to get blogging lol

I love this game Today your post is filled with lyrics and dreaminess. I like your answers, especially swimming in the rain - that's what I did once. And it feels great. 1. As for the first question, my answer will be: the Sea! Boundless, exciting, gentle, delightful sea. I dream of living near the sea. But the sea closest to my area is a few thousand miles away. 2. The book I would recommend to read to the class is "Little Prince" Exupery. A little tale with a great meaning. The most important values and truths of life are written in it. Still probably "wine from dandelions", a book about a carefree and happy childhood, the value of simple pleasures. 3. It would be interesting to try lemon in chocolate. Or hot pepper in chocolate. It would be a huge contrast of tastes). 5. Cat. Well here without comment. A small cat, sitting on its knees owner, comprehending unconditional love. I'm an incorrigible cat person.


Thank you for your post, it was interesting. And Yes, magic is everywhere. You just need to look more closely.

Nice one @donkeypong. The 5 ice breaker tips are really nice. But do you think it works out when you met a cute lady for the first time, i mean wont she think you're over doing it?

When the moment is right, just whip it out (a chat pack card, of course). Serenade her with your monologue. She'll know instantly how intelligent, articulate, and creepy you really are. :)

I should begin my reply by first thanking @donkeypong for bringing up these, frankly speaking, brilliant prompts. The beautiful thing about prompts is that one is forced, or even arm-twisted, into looking at subjects one would have ordinarily ignored. Whether we like it or not, prompts awake the giants in us.

Having said this, I am tempted to comment on all the five prompts in this post but that would be an attempt at overtaking the original post. So, I will only comment on my favourite prompt, which is:

(2) If you were a teacher, what is one book you would insist that your whole class read?

Books are the leaves that never wither. I have read a couple of good books and would have loved to recommend all of them. I would love to recommend a great novel such as Achebe's Things Fall Apart which rewrites African history and chronicles the impact of colonialism on African values. But then again, everyone in my class may not be Africans.

So, what book will I pick? I will like to pick something general which will be more applicable to the students beyond the four walls of my classroom. So, what book will I pick?

I will pick How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie. The book contains some timeless lessons about making friends and influencing people. Since I have discovered over the years that most of the successes people make in life largely come from the strength of their influence not from their academic might, I would want my students to learn the priceless lessons behind making friends. I have applied some of the lessons in the book and they have worked 100%. Why shouldn't I recommend it to my students?

This is my answer. I trust it meets the reader well.

Regards.

I will have to look up that first book you mentioned, since I haven't read it. Dale Carnegie is a solid choice also.

It will be a great read, I trust. Things Fall Apart is the all time best selling book written by an African. It is a novel.

Regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58