Do you know the goodness of this tiny spice ? Yes, it's Cardamom!!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi my dear Friends... Today I thought of sharing with you - The great benefits of this tiny spice - Cardamom...

image

Yes, my dear Friends... Though it looks so tiny the uses and benefits of this cardamom can be written in - not one, but a series of posts!!

There may be a few varieties of this cardamom, but I've seen only the white or green, and the black ones. The properties of both are almost similar...

image

image

image

image

image

These are the cardamoms, I always use at home...
I like it's aroma and I am always liberal in using maximum amount of cardamom for most of the foods I prepare in my kitchen!!

For example :

Tea
Sweets
Juices and smoothies(almost all varieties of juices)
Pulavs and upmas
Jams
and for also few varieties of sweet curries!! (With Mango and banana)....

Now let us talk about the good qualities or benefits of using this little spice, in everyday life!!

First and foremost it helps in reducing bad breath and is good for oral health!
It is good for digestion..
It helps in reducing asthma...

Lemon juice made with cardamon gives a quick relief from gastric troubles, as it stimulates digestion, soon after consuming... It is also used to treat heart burns, constipation and it improves appetite.

It is also good for cold and fever and a pinch of powder can be added to a cup of hot milk with a spoon full of turmeric to get quick relief from cold and fever...

It has got anesthetic and anti inflammatory properties.

In Ayurveda it is used in the medicines to treat blood pressure, blood clots, depression, acidity, stomach ulcers and many more!!

Since it has got a great amount of detoxifying and anti oxidant properties, it is also good for the healthy glow of skin and hair!!

It is a rich source of iron and manganese....

For small children while traveling by bus or car, a cup of lemon juice mixed with cardamom powder helps to keep away travel sickness or vomiting during traveling, if had half an hour before starting of the journey!!

Friends, Now you are all really surprised to read the innumerable benefits of this lil seed 'Cardamom', which we can call the 'King of spices'....

So my dear Friends... Please give much importance to this spice in your next shopping and give it a special place in your Kitchen shelf!!

Let it be handy always, so that you can use it liberally while preparing foods right from your morning tea!! :)

Take care my dear Friends, lovingly yours, @geetharao...

Sort:  

Hai ma'am. We produce cardamom in our land. I took this photo just after reading your post. Our region produces largest quantity of cardamom in the world!

IMG_20180505_162401.jpg

Oh, it's really great. Are you in Kerala or Tamilnadu?

Ma'am you seem to have forgotten my previous comments. I'm from Kerala. Near Munnar and Thekkady. :)

Oh yes, last time you had told me. That is a hill station. So tea, cardamom etc are grown easily there no?
You can write a continuation post to my post by loading some photos of this plant! I had not seen it before.... :)

Sure ma'am. I may post a Dtube video if possible. I think even in Karnataka people grow cardamom in some places like Kodagu and Mysore. If you get time, come to our place one day with your family!

You provided enough information about cardamom. It is one of the best spices and expensive also. In India it is mostly cultivated in Sikkim, Darjeeling, Arunachal and some other hilly places of India. India is the largest exporter of cardamom. ...Thank you for your nice post.

Hi Sir @hemantasarmah... Thank you so much for reading my blog..

yes @geethrao, these seeds are very healthful, these provide very beatiful mouthfeel. I am use these seeds in sweet desserts, but i cannot know about its health benefits. Thanks for sharing.
Untitled-2-Recovered~2.gif

Yes friend, it has lots of medicinal benefits .I often used it for the preparation of food specialy in pollou and motton curry. We also use it for preparing kheer and also masala tea. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful post, wish you a very beautiful day my dear friend.

Thanks for the beautiful text
I always used these seeds, but I did not know their properties; thank you for this post.👌

Thank you so much for reading my blog @saharkhanommi

I think if we start using such type of herbs then only we can remain healthy and lead a happy life. Thanks for sharing such a valuable medicine. Waiting for more such type of posts.

Thank you @gauttam for reading my blog.. :)

Great post i like it

I'm a huge fan of Indian food. I get that seed in every bowl of rice pudding when I eat out. I even get it the rice at the buffet.

I learned about Cardamom from my mothers cooking. She substituted Cinnamon for Cardamom in baking an "English tea ring" bread as a child. So nowIphone dump in February 2013 019.JPG I add this spice to many things where the recipe would call for Cinnamon. Great post! Especially all the photos and also reading the replies has been educational. Thanks!

wow health is also so importent factor now a days,btw happy birthday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67