What if you are just not in the mood?

in #life7 years ago

                                       

Image source

What happens if you are just not in the mood to do anything?

Ever had that feeling when you wake up in the morning and you are just not in the mood to do anything?  You know you have to get out of bed to get to work, but you just don't feel like it.  You snooze that alarm five times and then jump up to get yourself ready to go for work... usually in a record time.  While driving to work, that feeling would just not subside, and you take the longer road just to get to work a little later.  Who cares if you're late anyway? Then you hit that traffic, because everybody decided to be late today and you think to yourself...."Why oh why didn't I just stay in bed and call in sick"?

Sometimes we are just not motivated to do anything.  Most of us have so many responsibilities and duties at work and at home that we don't know where to start, so we often use the art of procrastination.  We postpone things to a time when we are not so overloaded, and then, if things get too much to handle (because you can't postpone something indefinitely) we become demotivated.   

                                             

Image source

Face it...we all just need a break sometimes, and we can not keep our positive motivation constant all the time.  Other times, we have so many great ideas and visions but we simply can not get started because we lack the energy or we lack the motivation. 

                                           

Image source

What to do if you are not motivated?

To succeed at anything in life, you need motivation and perseverance.  One of the best motivational quotes I have ever read was this:  

                                                               

Image 

When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful -Eric Thomas 

They even explained this quote beautifully:

Take a bucket of water and put your head in the bucket of water, for exactly one minute.  After you are out of breath, you still need to keep you head in the bucket under the water.  Your head will be filled with only one thought.  "Air".  The desire to breath will overcome all other desires.  Seconds later, breathing will be the only thought in your mind. You will have this burning desire to fill your lungs with air. You will not even think about all the other things you have to do during the day...... your only thought will be to get some fresh air into your lungs. 

Once you take that first breath of fresh air, you will know what desire feels like. 

For every situation in life, where you are demotivated, go and put your head in a bucket of water to get that desire back.  If what you are doing is really a desire, then all those feelings will come back to you and you will make a success in whatever you achieve to do.  

Do not procrastinate.  To postpone something doesn't make it go away.  You still have to do what you have to do...

                      

Please follow me 

       

Sort:  

I have struggled a lot-- for pretty much all of my life-- with motivation... or a lack of. From time to time it has affected me to the degree where I have started to wonder whether my true calling is simply to "sit and watch grass grow." Of course, I haven't actually had the luxury of doing that, but it has been a pervasive backdrop.

Sometimes it makes me wonder if I am simply a "late bloomer" who's yet to discover what my deeper desire is... something that feels more important than merely "wanting to get it done and over with." In the meantime, I write a lot!

Writing helps A LOT. Writing on steemit has helped me learn a lot about myself. I usually write about things that I am struggling with, and it seems to work. I have often felt that there was something big missing from my life, and since I've joined steemit that feeling has subsided. Maybe it is my calling to motivate people here on Steemit. I enjoy it very much and would not give it up for anything. Just keep on writing. You might find that writing too...is you biggest desire. The need to want to be heard....good luck on your writing. Will check out your blog a bit later. Thanks for the comment.

Art created from our painful or uncomfortable experiences is our best art.

Very true that!

Yes, writing does help a lot... this place represents a rediscovery of the social blogging I was deeply into, some 10-15 years ago. The whole thing was more or less destroyed by Facebook-- which is very "social" but really not a good venue for creative writing. Starting up on Steemit reminded me of just how much I miss this type of creative outlet.

Man I know how you feel. Some days are just blah blah for me. Some sort of creative outlet seems to be good boost.

Sure it does. I have been stuck for weeks now - had a bad case of writers block and I absolutely felt all the negative energy here on steemit. Suddenly things are looking brighter again and I am able to write again. Maybe I need to put my head in a bucket more....lol

Whole post is written about me!!

Ha ha ha!!! Gosh teaching makes me tired. So much concentration. I know exactly how you feel....lol :)

@mathworksheets, would you like to join me on the education trail here on Steemit?

Thanks for inviting me to education trail, giantbear. I am not sure if I can give the time or not. Let me know what do I have to do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75