The Most Fertile Woman in the WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I am the most fertile woman in the world. The words circulated through my head, and then seemed to fill up my abdomen. Three days late. My god, that can only mean one thing—somehow, someway the ovaries have done it again.

I think that most women have this moment once a year or so. Maybe you are at that stage in life where there is a whisper of hope in the words when you mutter them inside your head.Three days late sounds like a new, beautiful beginning. Hope abounds.

Or, maybe you mutter the words while dread rakes through your midsection like an expanding embryo. Three days late. Fuck. No, don’t even think that word—that’s what got you into this mess.

20190511_165224.jpg

There is a plethora of reasons why a woman might not want to be pregnant. Women like me have had our kids, we’ve got our youngest out of diapers, and freedom is growing by the day. Not to suggest that the baby years are not wonderful in their place and time, but once they have passed a woman begins to morph again into…a woman. A woman that happens to be a mother, but a woman none-the-less. Between pregnancy and a child the age of two-years-old, a woman is more a mother, than a woman. Are you confused now?

Anyway, three days late. Everything had been so timely and reliable up until then. Now it does not matter how very careful a woman happens to have been. It does not matter if the odds of pregnancy are very slim. We have that three days late thought process that goes something like this:

Well, the odds might be slim—like act of God kind of slim—but it could happen. In theory. How do I feel? Headache. Hmm…suspicious. Oh no! I woke up this morning craving garlic bread sticks! Yesterday at the grocery store I smelled a woman from the other end of the aisle! Yep, this is it.

Having been someone that has gotten pregnant twice on the first try, I generally take it a bit further with something like:

My god, I must be the most fertile person on earth. These ovaries can’t be stopped. They laugh in the face of all birth control attempts. “Somehow, someway” is their mantra. They are bound and determined to continue populating this overpopulated earth. It is a wonder the things have not found a way to reproduce asexually.

20190511_165528.jpg

We women in these states of mind generally wonder around the house in a flurry, doing mindless things while we work off the tense energy. The floor is swept, dishes done with no recollection—just thinking about those devious ovaries. The movement helps clear the mind.

A clear thought comes up. I know my body. I’m not pregnant. But somewhere out there are thousands of women doing the same thing—power sweeping the floors while muttering somehow, someway. To the ones with hope in their voice, I wish you luck.

To the rest, here is some comfort: most of us only have to play this fertility game for about fifteen more years.

That didn’t help at all, did it?

Sort:  

Haha!! I love this! I'm the kind that starts wondering even after one day late. And then I'll buy a bunch of tests even though I know a positive won't show up for me until a week late. If it comes up positive, the first thought is always, "Sigh, I have to go through labor again."
Well, if you do turn out positive, I say better now than later!

I am the same way - at day one I start to get suspicious. By day three I am full-on prepared. Lol.

Labor. I don't actually strongly dislike the idea of having more kids...but I really don't want to go through the misery of pregnancy, and then the pain and worries that come with labor. Ugh. But it doesn't matter, because I am definitely not pregnant. Phew.

Could you tell with confidence before you tested the times that you were pregnant? For both of mine (actually 3 pregnancies including a miscarriage) I knew before I could even take a test. One second I was sitting there all normal, and the next second I just knew. Hormones are just fascinating.

Yes the knowing always came with lightening speed and no doubt for me. Nine pregnancies, three successful births.

Wow, you knew with all 9 pregnancies? Impressive.

Yes. As soon as the idea entered my head, I knew if it was true or not. I can't say I always knew when a pregnancy was over though - that information was more difficult to let in. Those years are well behind me now, my kids all grown.

I can remember a few times in my life when it would have helped.
Great little capture of those first few moments of knowing, which sometimes we are grateful for and sometimes we are not whichever way it goes. It's like going around on a mobius strip for thirty or more years.

Ha, that's a great explanation. Thirty years. Yikes. Thank goodness as a teenager I didn't have sex, so I got a few years off free.

Being of the male persuasion, I have never dealt with this, but it must be fascinatingly odd and exciting and scary and wacky as heck. We mens's go through small hormonal 'stuff' now and then, and probably whine more than we should, being weenies compared to you that actually do the birthing. Pretty sure if I was vacuuming to cover the stress time of wonder, I'd wear ruts in the hardwood. Can't imagine what it's like as the one that actually has to go through it all for nine months, and the anxiety waiting for the tests, etc. Rather wild indeed. Though women friends I've known all have said they knew pretty much right away. Guess it's that biofeedback of the body, if you are in touch with it.
Now you just gotta quit being so fertile. As if that's a possibility. Can you tell I'm clueless about all of this, and winging it here? Maybe I should stick to cats ( :

Looking back at birth and pregnancy, I think good god, that was all pretty terrible. Lol. That's about 50 percent of life in generally though - it is pretty rough. But that other 50 percent of life is so lovely it makes up for it. Just like seeing your baby when it is all said and done is totally worth it.

Unfortunately not being fertile seems to be menopause...which also sounds horrendous. Golly, we women are such a lucky lot ;)

I was already picking names for the new tribe member! hehehe

What did you have in mind? I need some ideas for the next member of the household...which will likely be a hamster or a chicken.

Well I call all the chickens "pollas" (pollo is chicken in spanish, I just change a letter to make it femenine).... for hamster it can be Pelú (hairy in spanish) ahahaha I never put serious names to animals :D

This is so on-point it hurts :))) Hormones are just insane and I guess once that possibility enters your life, it just never leaves, no matter how crazy or unlikely, it's always somewhere at the back of your head.

Thank you for this :)

It seems like the older we get, the more we grasp how insane hormones are. Lol. I am finding that they screw with so much in my 30's. I am not exactly excited about what hormone horrors await in the 40's. Yes, that idea is always simmering there, and the odds are good that at some point in a woman's life it comes to fruition - for better or worse. Golly life is exciting :)

Question is, are you now pregnant again? Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

No. Unless by some freak chance somehow, someway...kidding. No, definitely not :)

Haha score for you then. My wife and I say this same thing all the time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha! howdy ginnyannette! You make any topic fun, funny and interesting! This was a false alarm right?

Most definitely a false alarm, thank god.

yay! lol. that calls for a drink!

Tomorrow night I have my weekly get together with my best friend. I think we will both toast that.

Oh cool. Do you get to get away from the house for a little while once a week? I mean a break from the kids?

Mother best friends are wise and have children the same age, so that they can run and play while the moms play...or talk, as the case may be :)

Oh ok, I get it. That works!

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The thoughts that go through our heads fascinate me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98