You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proof Of Payment Post - Brian Courteau

in #life6 years ago

I know you know this, but if you really don't want people to upvote your post, there's a setting for that. :)

As it is, every good post has some value, so it's only fair. You keep going above and beyond the call, and while you don't expect any compensation for it, you're still working with the same people who you're rallying to render help elsewhere. So it kind of loops back around. :)

Sort:  

steemit turned it off

Hunh. They did? You're right. It's gone. Thanks for pointing it out. I haven't used it for weeks so I didn't even notice.

Okay, @davemccoy, I take it all back. The part about payment, not the rest. :)

hahaha... I didn't even know that there was a button that turned off... See you learn something new every day... :)

And btw my point of the post was to make sure that everyone got to see that the posts paid out... There was one big guy in particular that wanted me to show that I paid it all like I said I would... I debated whether to say that or not, so basically I just wanted people not to feel obligated to upvote... But for teaching me something new (even though it doesn't work anymore, here is a token of gratitude for your advice :)

Trust, apparently, is in short supply around here. I understand, but at some point...

At any rate, I'm sure you're relieved to show the money gone, too, which would be the reason why I would do it, not because anyone wanted to make sure I did, unless they also had my back.

I just did some digging, and apparently the ability to decline payment does still exist. @twinner helped @uwelang to find it. You now have to go into settings and essentially change it there, rather than have the option on each post. Which I guess avoids the potential of doing it by accident? Anyway, the option is still there, just a little more hidden.

Busy still has it front and center. :) And you can do it for comments, too.

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 7.38.59 PM.png

hmmm... You are pretty good at finding cool things... I can't imagine wanting to not get paid except for a post like this... And yes I was happy to get it paid and out of my wallet... That is too much money sitting around... and I certainly wanted it to go to the place where it was intended!

I figured someone had posted about it. I just ran a Google search and happened to get lucky because usually it takes much more digging or else I end up on unrelated tangents.

I think it mainly exists for steemitblog, ned, and other Steemit related folks, along with higher SP users who are making some kind of community announcement. And I would suppose the kind you just made would be appropriate too. The problem I see now with it not being available via the post page is that I'd easily forget from one day to the next that I switched it to decline pay, and then end up sending out a post that I very much wanted payment for.

Better just to leave it on the 50/50 split. :)

lol.... me too :P

true that :)

Okay, so it looks like they took it off the post page, but left it or moved it (not remembering which) to the settings page where it's not nearly as convenient but harder to do by accident? Who knows. :)

I never even knew it was there :P ... :)

Well it doesn't matter anymore :P

thank to both you and @glenalbrethsen ... for teaching me there was something from the past...

I like hearing new things, even if they are over! :P

I didn't know that... I have never done it, does it block the upvote button?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70