LIFE LESSON -- Meeting friends, girlfriends, partners, or cryptopeople. IT IS ALL THE SAME.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is good advice FOR someone you meet for the first time.. and think you know.. Great advice FOR YOU!

meeting-people-great-advice.png

Here's a life lesson, that you can find out the hard way or by reading it in advance, and save yourself some trouble in life...

When people meet new people, they always put their first foot forward. They try to give a great first impression, because first impressions are very important.

Same as you would at a job interview...

Same as you would on a first date...

Same as you would meeting someone for the first time...

Most people are "super polite", seem very nice, and appear to be awesome.

  • This happens when meeting new friends
  • This happens when dating a new potential girlfriend or partner
  • This happens when cryptopeople meet each other too

WORDS OF ADVICE

-- You don't really know someone until time has passed.. it usually takes at least 6 months after the introduction to see their true colors

-- Everyone has a bad day. Observe this new person through their bad days. Are they still likeable?

-- Have a fight or two. A disagreement. Not everything in life is rosey and perfect. After a disagreement or fight, how do you resolve it? How did they act through it? Was it easy to get past it? Did they talk about it, or were willing to even talk out the problem towards a solution?

I HAVE FRIENDS, LOTS OF THEM.

  • BUT! My closest friends are the ones I've had disagreements with before, and we've talked it out... and we are still cool with each other past it.

  • My acquaintances, are people I know, we enjoy dealing with each other during the best of the times, but we've never been through an argument.

PEOPLE CAN BE UGLY DURING A DISAGREEMENT OR ARGUMENT

  • It is the way you can work things out, resolve them, and come to amicable terms afterwards that makes the difference.

....that is when I truly know someone... and trust them....

If we can fight, disagree, or argue, and still remain great friends afterwards.

....that is the time and effort you want to invest in someone you meet.

Arguments, disagreements, and fights are a natural part of life, and differences of opinion are inevitable.

For non-english native tongue speakers "inevitable" means to me... IT EVENTUALLY WILL HAPPEN.

Some of my closest friends and people I have 100% respect for... and I can count them on both hands (which means 10 or under).... I've had less-than-perfect encounters with.

Even through my worst days (or their worst days)... we find common ground, get through it, and get back to the way we were before it happened.

Let's call it a bump in the road - of the bumpy road of life

bumpy-road.png

Not every conversation, situation, or encounter is always going to be perfect.

...but when conflict arises... where both parties feel they are not being heard or understood -- that's a bad situation "for that moment" that needs to be resolved.

...and neither of us likes it when it happens.

Some of our closest friends, some of our partners, some of our lovers, or some of our co-workers get into these weird positions at times.

_..it is completely normal for that to happen..

It is the way you resolve these difficult times... or the way you can accept the situation and work past it, that makes all the difference in the world.

I often have a 6 month rule, when I meet someone. It takes 6 months for these difficult situations to develop, a conflict of some sort, before I really feel I know the person. So I'm always on guard until that happens.

Is 6 months long enough? Usually yes. Sometimes no...

Now here is where something weird happens... and it works for me. If it takes 6 months for me to see the worst from someone, and it either never happens during that time frame....

I AM ALSO JUDGED WHETHER OR NOT I AM A FRIEND TO THEM (SAME SCENARIO)

...WHICH MEANS...

How am I perceived by them? 6 months have passed, do I meet their criteria for someone, who under the most difficult of times is worth resolving issues and dealing with again?

Now let's talk specifically about cryptopeople.

  • I know LOTS of cryptopeople....

Q: What are cryptopeople?
A: People we meet in passing who have cryptocurrency as the common subject of how we met on the internet

Q: Ok @intelliguy, what do you think of cryptopeople?
A: I'm impressed, genuinely they are all good, unless... you depend on them to do something particular, which doesn't benefit them directly.

Whaaaaat?

Here's where I have to pleasantly smile:

smile-star.png

...you have to be good with it..

Cryptopeople socialize, in general, for the common reason they all believe in cryptocurrency and its future.

The first time they realize they are spending time, effort, or money, without any ROI (return on investment) their true colors come out.

....and this is the basis of why I wrote this blog post....

Through the thick forest of general socializing with all cryptopeople, over the last 5 years... I've learned something about people in general.

Out of every 20 cryptopeople I meet, there is only 1 out of 20, that is actually a friend, a potential girlfriend, partner, or lover (as weird as it sounds), that I am truly respectful and I put in a different class than everyone else.

Lover? girlfriend?

If that's all you saw... then you're not thinking and reading between the lines here.

...and you do need to read between the lines....

Let's say crypto died 100% tomorrow. There was no more Bitcoin. There was no more STEEM. There was no more Bitshares, EOS, Ethereum, or Litecoin.

Let's imagine the ENTIRE system of cryptocurrency blew up and died completely.

bomb-boom-fuse.png

I can think about 10 people I'd still want to remain friends with, and talk to after the aftermath happened.

Can you?

Those are your friends. I know who mine are. Who are yours?

Think about this... These are the people you truly know and trust.


A bit about me. I'm constantly thinking, sharing, and believing everything is possible. Consider following me. :)


P.S. If you didn't read this entire post from top to bottom, not only did you cheat me, you just cheated yourself. Go back, scroll to the top and re-read it all. You will be glad you did. :)

Sort:  

NAME THEM BUDDY... @intelliguy who do you trust? Which one of am I? If cryptocurrency was 100% dead tomorrow would you still talk to me?

  • I love being called out that way.... but I won't do it... for the simple reason it wouldn't be fair, cuz I haven't had disappointments with many new, great people I've met recently.

What I can tell you... is those people out there, reading this, that have long term interactions with me... and even after disagreements we're still talking...

You're definitely one of the 10 I talk about. :)

I want more than 10. Crypto needs more people to unite for it to be a success. It isn't all dollars and cents (or pesos or euros)

..and some point we must realize that cryptocurrency can and will change the world. Just like the internet changed the world.

...so with that said...

I look forward to talking, interacting, and working with all of you who spent the time to read this post.. and not just some of it, but ALL of it. :)

intelliguy....i really wanna comment this post....first of all i wanna say that when i read the title on my ' FEED' i was not so enthusiast to read the whole article...actually it didn't cause my interest at all...
...but then i thought...'come on ,lets give it a try,its intelliguy's post afterall '...
...when i started reading i couldn't stop!!!
...bravo for your post...whatever you say i agree 100%... don't be in a hurry to judge somebody as your friend before testing him through time!!!....AGREE 100%... time will tell you if somebody deserves your friendship!!!
... try to learn from other people experiences!!!
...as far as it concerns cryptofriends.... your words my friend is so sincere. lets face the truth.....you said you got 10 friends...
.... i got nobody...i cannot count not even one...of course i got many that i interact every day...but this is all about crypto...if crypto says 'goodbye', the same will my cryprofriends say!!!
...have a nice day !!!

I’m here to find those people who I’d like to stay in contact with even if steemit crashed. I don’t really do “crypto people”. If I’m able to put my ego aside it doesn’t take me six months to figure out who most of them are, nor to really understand them. but people are always changing and situations change so people drift closer or further from me and that’s ok.

I find it much easier to connect on discord though. Steemit is kind of like a broadcast while discord is a conversation.

I appreciate your thoughts. So far, the people I'm getting to know on Steemit that I would still like to talk to if cryptocurrency died are not people I'm connecting with specifically about the topic of cryptocurrencies. They're people with other common interests. Other than those I met in person at the recent Minnesota Meetup, most of the potential friends are spread around the globe and I think it's unlikely that I'll get to know them well enough to truly trust them deeply. At least, I would prefer getting to know people in person. You raise interesting questions and thoughts. I agree that until you have been comfortable being vulnerable with each other, disagreeing for example, your relationship isn't as close as I want mine to be.

show your support upvote/vote/comen for my oke

great post! I like it!

It's great to have self control of emotions in meeting new people, our part in life by being a good human being is to have discipline and be open as much as possible to the people we meet.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

nice post

Job well done in pointing out the markers of true friendship. They all bear signifixant meaning.
My name is Nii and I like yoir optimism.

Haha, this is so true and I have noticed it as well. Been lucky to have met a handful of people through crypto that I am actually friends with too. Crypto could die tomorrow and we would still have stuff to talk about and keep in touch. It's a small group though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55