You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beginners Pulsing Breath Meditation (7 mins) - Monday Mindfulness

in #life5 years ago

Hey, it's good to find material about Mindfulness, I was a psychology student and one of my teachers practiced this and gave us some very interesting classes. While watching your video and breathing as you had indicated, I wanted to sleep, that happens to me every time I try to meditate (it also happened to me in the classes on mindfulness that my teacher dictated to me at the university), why does that happen to me of wanting to sleep in the middle of meditation?

Sort:  

There can be many reasons to feel sleepy while meditating so it's hard to pin point it exactly.

Does anything else give you a similar sensation of sleepiness?

Sometimes it's the mind wanting to phase out, sometimes we forget to breath, sometimes it's because we have a full stomach, sometimes we are dehydrated, sometimes it's a phase that passes quickly, sometimes not, sometimes we just need to sleep.

Are you able to catch the sleepiness and focus on that? exploring it consciously?

In some cases simply a more movement based practice helps develop some mindfulness comfort in an active way before we can explore different types.

So in short it's normal and there are many reasons why.
Please let me know if you have questions along the way.

These are some playful active meditation practices you might like.





Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82