(IJCH) "Insatiable" - a New Netflix Series (or How I Remember My Fat Childhood and It Hurts)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) "Insatiable" - a New Netflix Series (or How I Remember My Fat Childhood and It Hurts)

source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Netflix has released the trailer for Insatiable, a new show that will air this month on Friday, August 10, 2018.

Source

It's about a fat girl in high school who endures a lot of cruelty, humiliation and bullying.

Source

Then she wires her jaws shut and becomes thin, I mean sexy, hot thin.

Source

Making good use of her newfound charms, she exacts revenge on all who inflicted so much pain on her in the past.

source

source

But...

over two thirds of people in the US are now plus size — and for those 218 million, major weight loss isn’t necessarily a part of their story.

They are, however, staying fat and getting laid, staying fat and being funny, staying fat and building vibrant communities, staying fat and living their lives with confidence, staying fat and riding out highs and lows, just like thin people.

Source

That wasn't me as a kid.

I was fat and unhappy.

I Remember My Fat Childhood and It Hurts

Source

A less than Joyful Childhood can really mess with your mind.

I remember always being out of place in school - too young, too smart, too Asian, and so very lonely.

Source

Racism was alive and well in New England during the 1960’s.

And the discrimination in the Southern Florida area of the early 1970’s was worse. I was either ridiculed for my slanted eyes, or brown skin; or simply ignored, "invisible grey" in a "black and white" world.

Source

To make matters worse, I was fat.

Not just chubby or baby-fat cute, I was fat.

582257480-170x170.jpg
Source

I blamed my parents.

In Asia, a fat child was a status symbol, a testimony to the assumed wealth of his parents, and looked upon favorably by all.

But in the United States, fat children are stereotyped as being lazy, cowardly, comical, and stupid.

Source

My parents just didn’t get it.

They acted like they didn’t care that I was ridiculed daily. And I can’t count how many times I cried over being – as my mother would say – "husky".

Source

In fact, I can still remember dreading each new season of shopping for school clothes. I had to buy "husky" sizes.

I was so ashamed that I would keep looking around the store to see if any of my friends were around before I went to the dressing rooms.

It wasn’t until I was nine or ten years old that I rebelled. I refused to eat whatever my parents made for dinner, choosing to prepare my own meals.

menino-gordo-asiático-bonito-que-come-o-sanduíche-isolado-60365742.jpg
Source

Of course, this led to a life-long battle over food choices with my parents. I’m sure I hurt their feelings many times.

But I just couldn’t stand being the brunt of all the fat jokes at school and other unavoidable social situations.

Source

The above is excerpted from:

(IJCH) How Dare She! (Out Of Desperation, I Learned How To Forgive...)

Source

Article Link:

https://steemit.com/blog/@jaichai/ijch-how-dare-she-out-of-desperation-i-learned-how-to-forgive

Once a Fat Person, Always...

Source

You would never know by looking at me now that I used to be fat.

But similar to alcoholics and drug addicts, "Once a fat person, always a fat person - whether the appearance matches or not".

And although my adult Asian genetics now manifest the stereotypical bamboo-like physique, to this day I remain empathetic towards anyone trying to lose weight.

Here's the trailer for Netflix's Insatiable:

Source

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

You got a 46.26% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Loading...

Looks like it will be an interesting show. I was the flip side, I was the smallest when I was in school and they were just as bad. Then of course I have to have an odd name. Mid to late '70s Fred the Cockatoo and his partner Baretta had to come visit or TV screens. That made life worse.

It wasn't until I had been married for a couple of years the weight kicked into high gear. That's a whole bowl of something else :P

It's odd though, if we all say we teach our children to treat each other right, then there shouldn't be a problem. Obviously people lie. We all know this is not the case.

A shining moment when you know you have raised your children right. A couple of years ago my youngest (he was about 22 yrs old) at the time. Saw as he put it 'a rather large man' who was out during one of the hottest days that summer jogging. My son said he was completely drenched head to toe in sweat. Pulled over and told him to keep it up and screw anyone who tells him otherwise. The guy was a bit dumbstruck and said thanks. When he was telling me this story he had said 'He's trying and I know how people are around here, he had probably been pulled up behind honked at to scare him, nastiness yelled at him. I just wanted him to know some weirdo in the world was on his side. I just smiled and said 'You're not the weirdo, the others are for putting something down that does not fit in their box.'

I can only imagine how hard it was to be culturally split and completely caught in the middle. Who's laughing now tho? Who's the one that's been retired, for what 14 yrs (sorry if my memory sucks). I bet the shoe is on the other foot. They're fat and lazy still slaving away. Ironic how life goes.

Thanks for sharing sometimes going back to those old memories stir up emotions we dealt with a long time ago.

Loading...

I really don't understand why people are glorifying being fat. It's one thing to be "plus size" and a whole different thing to not even being able to do your shopping on your feet and having to use a motorized moving cart instead.

Being fat has countless heath problems and it's not something to be proud of or accepted. You're supposed to get rid of it, not treat it like a part of your personality.

Thank you for telling me about this show 🧡 sounds like one ill really enjoy. Im always looking for new shows on Netflix.. and yes i remember how school days can be cruel 😢. Its the whole ugly ducking story always..

I'm enjoying the revenge of the nerds as an adult.

The whole social hierarchy of high school has been turned upside down; hence my email address and Byteball payment ID:

[email protected]

Lol!

Thank you for visiting and commenting. I am heading off to your blog right after this reply.

Namaste, JaiChai

This is truly well.. Inspiring as well as thought provoking.. As someone who also was once fat I completely understand.. I'm not one for a drama series but I will make out time to check this out

Thank you for visiting and commenting.

RE: Your Comment

I'm curious to see if the main character comes to the conclusion that revenge hurts all parties.

IMHO, balancing the scales of justice for everyone and everything is a task best left to the Universe.

Distributing "Karma" - good or bad" - is one the Universe's main jobs. And it surely doesn't need any assistance from us!

Forgiveness of self and then others is the only way...

Namaste, JaiChai

I just love Netflix series not because of its entertainment but for its way of showing real things that happen in peoples life.

I agree. Most people can easily identify with their productions.

Thank you so much for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, jaiChai

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 89.4% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

You always introduced some really interesting choice of show.
The last time you introduced Lost in Space, I went look from old version movies to the latest series at Netflix, and finished all!!

Thanks so much for visiting and commenting. Heading off to your blog now.

Namaste, JaiChai

You are most welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70