An Environmentalists' Diary; Part 5: Reduce Your Dependence on Single Use Plastics/Paper TowelssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

What are some things you use once and throw away in your household?

I instantly thought of paper towels. Whether for using them to clean up a mess or as a napkin, getting rid of paper towels in your house is a first step to reduce your waste. I bought a pack of microfiber towels and put them in the place where I normally keep a roll of paper towels. So when my physical habit goes to reach for a paper towel, I end up with a washable and reusable microfiber towel instead. Set yourself up for success!

I was fed up with going out to places that continue to give single use plastic utensils and single use plastic straws, especially since straws litter any touristy beach in the world. So I decided to create my own "to go"utensil pack. Luckily for me, companies are already making these sustainable utensil packs. I found mine on Amazon; it contains a bamboo fork, spoon, knife, and chopsticks. I also bought a pack of stainless steel straws which came with a straw cleaner brush (you know, to get out all that extra smoothie gunk). Now I use my utensil pack and keep my straw in the pack too, and keep it in my purse for whenever I need to stop and grab food or a drink. I usually keep a reusable cup in my car too. (The fork is missing because I used it and haven't washed it yet).

When I go to the store, I bring my reusable shopping bags, not only to reduce my waste but to get a bag discount! I was still consistently using the plastic produce bags but I thought to myself, let's go one step further: find reusable produce bags. Searched Amazon again and they exist! I bought mesh bags that are washable so I can use them for pretty much anything :)

Have other eco-friendly ideas or products you use everyday to be sustainable? Post your info below!

~Jill

Sort:  

OOO!! I love the idea of microfiber towels in place of paper towels. I wonder if there is something that could be used as a dispenser. I will find something. Thank you for the tips! (by the way, I'm originally from the Sacramento area, too - glad you made it to Hawaii. I'm in Cancun)

Thanks for the feedback! and no way! That's awesome. Norcal for life! @jannell Never been to Cancun, I bet it's awesome!

This is great. I love seeing how different people are working to save our planet. Yesterday I wrote a blog post about plastic use. It can be found here - Choose to RefusePlastic-Free-July-Choose-to-Refuse-300ppi.png

Sweet!! Love it!

Great job Jill, so many people don't realize how much plastic they throw away and where it ultimately ends up. Keep spreading the info!

Steemfest2 is in Lisbon this year. You and Cody should consider coming out for it! It's a great way to network and meet your steemit people :)

@heiditravels Thanks Heidi! Conservation is my passion so I will definitely keep spreading the word!

Yes Nessi told us about Steemfest! We really want to go but trying to figure out funds and whatnot since we just got back from traveling a few weeks ago. I'm thinking if I just keep consistent on here I can fund my trip to Steemfest with Steemit! haha.

Congratulations @jillwirt! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68