You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I learned from six hours without any technology & 5 SBI share giveaway

in #life5 years ago

I saw this post before the nudge you just posted, but wasn't too sure what to say. I've never really had a similar experience. :)

But, after thinking... I realised that in a way it happens to me all the time. I live in a small country town where the infrastructure really isn't the most up-to-date. We're trained at a young age to be your basic "prepper". Have a little gas stove, matches, first-aid kit, torches, candles, spare blankets, certain types of spare food that can be stored for a rainy day. Literally. Storm season. Floods, cyclones, at least two lengthy power outages a year.

So. No electricity? No problem! But this is at home. Not out and about. I'm fine without my mobile phone, I only even have the thing because I need a number for people I don't want to contact me, to contact me. :P But at home... the internet!! My laptop!! Argh!! What am I supposed to do now?

But it's really just a minor annoyance. "Hey, I wanted to read that! I wanted to write that! My son was watching that!!".... after that goes away, I find it freeing. :)

So, while not directly related to the mobile phone, but in regards to power outages and the lack of computer... eek!

On a similar note, my secret goal in life is to magically come into a reasonable sum of money and go live off-grid for the rest of my days. I also plan for my off-grid home to be covered in solar panels and back-up batteries.

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment @kaelci! I was feeling lonely!

It’s interesting you’re prepared for a total outage so it isn’t a big deal at home. We lose power from time to time too but with a backup generator and cell towers nearby we usually don’t go long without devices. Hot water on the other hand is what I miss when that happens.

We owned some property off the grid for a few years before deciding to build a cabin and run power from the road and adding a septic system. I wouldn’t mind being off grid as long as I had warm water and indoor bathrooms.

But you don’t need magic for your dream. Just keep writing awesome books!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98