What I learned from six hours without any technology & 5 SBI share giveawaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

question-mark-3255140_1920 (1).jpg

Two minutes into the drive realization set in: I’d left my phone at home. Not only my phone but my bag with my iPad, keyboard, and headphones. My daughter and I were just at the end of our road, but there was no time to turn back. If we did, we’d miss the bus to the airport and if we missed the bus, she’d miss her flight to London.

But we made it just in time. On the two-hour ride I told my daughter how naked I felt. I hadn’t been out of the house without a device, usually more than one, in decades. I’m not exaggerating.

Consequences

On top of that nagging feeling I’ve forgotten something, I also realized I wouldn’t be able to let my parents know how the trip was going, when I’d be home (they were watching my son) or communicate with my daughter once she passed security.

I also couldn’t play Pokemon Go, check my email, twitter or Steem. Or pass the time doing any of the zillion tasks that I do on my devices each day. Ok, so I am exaggerating there. Maybe a million.

Obviously, not having my devices put me out of my comfort zone. I had nothing to do on my ride home. Nothing.

The right question

The reason I wanted to bring my iPad was to write on the way home. I’m trying to nail down the elements of book 2 of my Butcher of Porwia series and it was the perfect time to do it. I even tried to buy good old pencil and paper at the store in the airport. They had nothing!

No notebooks, no pens - except one themed gift pack for an outrageous amount of money (just the pen, no paper).

So I only had my thoughts on the way home. And I felt compelled to answer the question:

"Why did being without a device bother me so much?"

Turns out that was the right question.

The answers

The first answers I came up with involved habits. I check my phone every few minutes. It’s a habit. Not a good one but certainly better than smoking or a dozen others I could mention.

But that seemed too easy. Giving up soda would make me feel the same because I’d be giving up a habit. This feeling was deeper, more significant than just boredom or figity hands.

Admitting that to myself freed my mind to look harder, to find the core of my uncomfortableness and bring it up for me to look at.

Here’s the truth: I felt powerless. If my kids or parents needed me I wouldn’t know it. I couldn’t respond, comfort, or take action. Whatever they were doing it was going to happen without me even if I needed to be there (virtually or in person).

I also found I like being with just my thoughts. I didn’t miss the distractions once I accepted they weren’t there.

It made me wonder, perhaps remember, what it is like to just live. Without phone calls, texts, emails, posts, comments, tweets, news and the whole damn internet, time moved more slowly. The bus ride seemed to take forever and if I hadn’t been so tired and hungry I would have enjoyed that. The whole experience was much more profound than I’m able to convey here. But I’m hoping the essence of it is coming through.

The problem persists

Once home, I immediately grabbed my phone to check for texts from my daughter. She’d given me status updates even though I couldn’t read them until I got home. I breathed easier knowing she’d made it and the flight took off on time. It won’t land for another couple of hours after I post this.

With a daughter away at school, a recently teenage son, and elderly parents I recognize I need my devices so I stay connected to them. But I know that once we’re all together this summer, we will have tech-free days.

And I’m looking forward to them.

What’s your story?

Have you ever gone without your mobile phone or other device unexpectedly? How did you handle it and how did you feel? Was it freeing or scary - or both?

Tell my your story in the comments and I’ll give the one I like best 5 SBI shares. If I like more than one, there may be even more winners.

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

For me I cant really say it bothers me that much when I was a kid there was no internet or phones, I think I have forgotten my phone when going into work perhaps 3 times in 10 years and while I admit something did trigger in my mind along the lines of "what if my mom needs me for something?" I quickly calmed down and realised the chances of that are very low plus if there was a real emergency someone could always contact me at work. I actually do my best @ntowl to not let devices control me, when I get home I often put my phone down and simply forget about it "I put it on silent" and get on doing things, and its only when I feel like it or have the time will I then check-in with my phone, like this I remain in control and not my devices controlling me. Haha yea sure people hate it and it annoys them but I don't care LOL it keeps me relaxed and sane.

I saw this post before the nudge you just posted, but wasn't too sure what to say. I've never really had a similar experience. :)

But, after thinking... I realised that in a way it happens to me all the time. I live in a small country town where the infrastructure really isn't the most up-to-date. We're trained at a young age to be your basic "prepper". Have a little gas stove, matches, first-aid kit, torches, candles, spare blankets, certain types of spare food that can be stored for a rainy day. Literally. Storm season. Floods, cyclones, at least two lengthy power outages a year.

So. No electricity? No problem! But this is at home. Not out and about. I'm fine without my mobile phone, I only even have the thing because I need a number for people I don't want to contact me, to contact me. :P But at home... the internet!! My laptop!! Argh!! What am I supposed to do now?

But it's really just a minor annoyance. "Hey, I wanted to read that! I wanted to write that! My son was watching that!!".... after that goes away, I find it freeing. :)

So, while not directly related to the mobile phone, but in regards to power outages and the lack of computer... eek!

On a similar note, my secret goal in life is to magically come into a reasonable sum of money and go live off-grid for the rest of my days. I also plan for my off-grid home to be covered in solar panels and back-up batteries.

Thanks for the comment @kaelci! I was feeling lonely!

It’s interesting you’re prepared for a total outage so it isn’t a big deal at home. We lose power from time to time too but with a backup generator and cell towers nearby we usually don’t go long without devices. Hot water on the other hand is what I miss when that happens.

We owned some property off the grid for a few years before deciding to build a cabin and run power from the road and adding a septic system. I wouldn’t mind being off grid as long as I had warm water and indoor bathrooms.

But you don’t need magic for your dream. Just keep writing awesome books!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You have interesting question there @ntowl.
I did forgot to bring my phone to work few times and also lost it few times also.
Guess I'm a clumsy person.

My answer to you is both. It is freeing when I don't need to use it. It is scary, actually sometimes frustrating when I need it to call somebody or waiting for reply from somebody but I don't have my phone in my hand.

In conclussion, I need my phone with me or nearby me whether I'm using it or not just in case of emergency. Including it's charger too.
Cheers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your input! I agree it is freeing - except the Mom in me needs to stay connected to my kids. As long as I know they are safe, I could go without I think.

Agree with you. The time when I don't need my phone is actually during when I am with my husband and little baby girl.

Posted using Partiko Android

So we sometimes get load shedding here in South Africa so we get the electricity turned off for a while and well you're pretty screwed if you didn't charge your devices . Personally I make the best time out of it break out the gas stove outside or start a fire have a solid cook out and just take my time. Play board games by candle light or just sit outside have a drink and talk shit until the lights come back on lol

It really doesn't phase me much, I think im pretty good at surviving without tech

I guess you're used to it then. And people to spend the time with - that makes a huge difference.

Belated New Year Wishes @ntowl.

Firstly, when i read this blog post of yours, i don't have any idea as to what to write.

I was thinking about it and after sometime, i was able to recollect an incident from my "Weak Memory."

Exactly eight years ago, this incident happened.

Actually, i was fighting a lone battle against my fraudster uncle to save my father's property. For the same reason, i used to shuttle between two states. I was actually facing a lot of problems at that time.

While these things are going on one side, another jolt was in the offing on the other side.

When i was traveling by bus after meeting a settlement person who was helping me to retain my father's property, I LOST MY CELL PHONE!

To make things even worse, i earned the wrath of my brother because it belongs to him and he gave it to me taking into consideration the pitiable condition i was in.

I lost all the contact no.s along with it. I can't make any calls, messages and i don't have money to buy another one. My mind was under such pressure that I don't know what to do next.

On that particular day, i practically experienced the pain of losing an important thing.

.....which i will never forget for the rest of my life!

I am glad that you got some responses!

I find it funny how much we do rely on our devices now. I really needed it when I had crappy cars that liked to break down on the side of the road - but that was before the time of affordable cell phones. (not that they really are)

I do enjoy the phone for listening to podcasts and now, for counting my steps. But very much enjoy time without technology. Soon, I will do longer hikes again and usually, there is no reception anyways.
So, yes, surprising how much we use the phones and devices but I like to be without - not if I am driving in areas I am not familiar with. I used to have a map in the car. Not any more. So, in that case, I really would miss my phone.

I have never got addicted to a phone because internet was a hell lot expensive in India but after JIO boom the price died out literally died out and now even I am somewhat addicted. I have never gone without a phone completely since then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98