๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–It's Okay To Date Yourself!๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

in #life โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

portrait-3137833_960_720.jpg

Valentine's Day is around the corner, And I feel like for this holiday it's a reminder to the many of us who are still single or recently single.
Sometimes it seems as though that great person out there, That you can have a solid connection with, Doesn't exist.

Spoil Yourself

We can't rely on anyone for our happiness, And this is true for all relationships not just dating.
If you can't keep yourself happy, Don't expect anyone else to do it for you.
Don't be afraid to take yourself out on dates, Buy yourself dinner. And go on activities you enjoy doing.

It Can Be Scary At First

Sometimes dating yourself, And going out alone can be a bit scary. It may seem like everyone is staring at you.
Or just plain awkward.
But it is fun once you get over that aspect.
I go on hikes alone all the time; I go for jogs, I go to parks and draw. I take myself to dinner.
It took a lot to get over it initially, But once I became less scared. It became quite empowering.
trees-1789120_960_720.jpg
If you rely on someone else to have fun. Then you are going to be screwed.
If you can't go to dinner or activity yourself, Not only do you lose your relationship, But you lose a lot more.
How are you supposed to recover from past breakups when you lose so much everytime the relationship ends?
Exactly.

And yes, For some of you guys, You may have close friends you can do stuff with too! And that helps as well!

Love Being Alone

We always have our phones in front of our faces. Every moment of "unoccupied" Time seems to be absorbed by our phones.
This is one of the reason, so many of us freak out When we are alone and don't have access to our phones.
Not having our phone can cut us off from the world and people. And leave us feeling lonely.
I noticed this when I was hiking the other day; Despite me being clear up in the mountains to where I had no cell phone service, I found myself still checking my phone.
I Had to mentally focus on the beauty of what was around me to get my self to ignore the urge to constantly occupy my brain, With the selfies, Food photos and quotes from the social media apps I'm on.
It robs us of life, And it steals away from us being able to fully enjoy being present.

Don't let the lack of a relationship be the reason you don't enjoy your life! Get out there and date yourself.

DQmYAHaEJ4aFmGXXfv5Wv8dHbym7i8YQydPUbWmewQTcfTS_1680x8400.png

Sort: ย 

You have been victim of a @GrumpyCat flag because you or someone else sent money to buy votes from an irresponsible non-GrumpyCompliant service.

@sneaky-ninja is acting irresponsibly by selling votes to people on their post in the last hours before payout. = 99.99% abuse rate.

Sending money to these bots is also financially supporting for-profit spammers.

To know what voting bot to use, refer to https://steembottracker.com/ and use those that have 3.5 day or less in the "Max Age" column.

Learn more ...

Until you pretend you're two people at once and start talking to yourself. ;)

Hahaha... Could be a bad signs if you're talking to yourself...

Really bad sign..ha ha

Have a nice day...

U2
Check me out and help me to grow

"If you rely on someone else to have fun. Then you are going to be screwed.
If you can't go to dinner or activity yourself, Not only do you lose your relationship, But you lose a lot more."

Those are immortal words in my heart. Trust me @kaylinart, i resonate with it.

OMG ! LOL maybe don't go that far lol

Hey I don't need to go that far this year and hopefully ever again hahaha XD

OMG XD

Maybe this happens)))

this is me whenever im alone hahahaah.okay, im weird.

I talk to myself most times

Well I will be doing this for the first time in 28 years after breaking up with my Ex 2 weeks ago... :(

You are correct, you should cherish being alone on God given time, to be happy by yourself. If you are not happy now, you will not be happy with someone. YOU HAVE TO BE HAPPY FIRST! :)

Where was this post when I was feeling lousy that I didn't have a date back in my early 20s?!! Seriously, I would have rather sat at home and did nothing than go out alone. I wish I had the encouragement to just date myself. Life would have been more fun that way, I'm sure!

Aww really? I wish you did too :) it solves lots of issues for sure.

giphy-downsized (2).gif

Try to go a whole day without a phone , then a weekend it sounds crazy but it will change your whole life . I now only use my laptop for social media(steemit and youtube) . Remember only 20 years ago people didn't really use cell phone. My kids don't even know what a house phone is .

If we donโ€™t feel comfortable with ourselves and by ourselves we have serious issues. Because, how could we have a good relationship with someone else. If we donโ€™t feel good about us? If we donโ€™t accept ourselves how can we expect to be accepted by someone else.

Having a little comforting โ€œmeโ€ time is always nice, and a good way to connect with ourselves. But in order to do this we must first be comfortable with our own individual company.

EXACTLY! We need to have good relationships with ourselves too.

Yes, in my opinion if you don't love yourself, then you cannot love anyone.

Stay Blessed.

We are more self-obsessed!

Haha, don't you think at first it looks like the excuse of all those poor people on earth who are single? By the way don't worry I am also single so I can relate to it lol.
Yes, it is good to be alone, it is good to love yourself and talk to yourself, do things which you like but at the end of day you need someone else who care for you, who you like and who you wait for at home.

This is my excuse ... alas ...

I agree! But at the same time you can't expect others to love you, if you don't love yourself.

"Don't let the lack of a relationship be the reason you don't enjoy your life!":

well said!๐Ÿ‘

It's just that simple you just have to wait for the right person. And when you find the right person just hold on to them. People can't be perfect and neither can relationships be perfect. You gotta accept them as the way they are and love them for what they are.

Quite right. But it's so hard to accept people with all the shortcomings ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76