Don't Travel in China During a National Holiday!

in #life5 years ago


hello steem blockchain - pink and green theme.png

I recently took a trip to Xi'an with my friend Johnathan. We travelled to this historic city during the National Day holiday which is about one week long. This is a time where Chinese people from all over the country make plans to travel and for a city like Xi'an, it was a nightmare at times.

outside terracotta.JPG

Chinese people love to visit all the popular tourist attractions in large herds. This means unbearable lines and crowds that become a serious hazard. We went to the famous Terracotta Warriors, which is probably Xi'an's most popular attraction. It was an absolute nightmare. We couldn't enjoy the sight because of how many people were there. We were waiting in lines that eventually disintegrated into a mob of people pushing and shoving to get to the entrance.

Entering the Terracotta Warrior's Excavation Sites

Upon entering, each of the three sites of the Terracotta Warriors was jam-packed with people taking photos with their smartphones. There weren't any available spaces you could stand and relax. It was just mayhem from beginning to end. Herds of people stood against the rails to take photos and it was hard to get near. You had to take photos over dozens of heads which means the photos usually didn't turn out very well.

inside terracotta.JPG

Since everyone kept on pushing, there was barely any space to take photos from the front. Eventually things died down near the rear of the building. It was the only spot you could actually stand and take photos semi-comfortably. Unfortunately, that means you are not facing the warriors, but looking at them from the back.

terracotta warriors.JPG

As you can see from the photo, the massive crowds were all huddled at the front of the building.

This is what happens in China. Watch out for all the famous tourist attractions in China if you are travelling during a national holiday. Chances are they will be filled to the brim. That is why it is always a better idea to make sure you aren't travelling during a national holiday. Usually, these places aren't worth the hassle. A lot of times, these tourist attractions are over hyped and too expensive. It usually isn't worth all the lines, waiting and chaos that ensues when you travel at these times. Look for unique things to do when you travel in China. Check out a soccer/basketball game, go to a bathhouse or learn calligraphy. Do something out of the ordinary.

This is very crucial advice to anyone that wants to travel around this amazing country.

Thanks for reading & watching!

recent posts header - pink and green theme.png


TASTY Chinese Food Exploration in Xi'an's Muslim Quarter!
The Journey to China's Most Historical City!
Trying (Authentic??) GERMAN Food in China!
"I Cannot Approach Women No Matter How Hard I Try!"
Traveling to Tianjin, China During a NATIONAL HOLIDAY!
Should You Live in China Long Term??
If a Chinese Girl Tells You This, You Are in The FRIEND ZONE!
The PROS and CONS of CHINESE FOOD!


Kenan.png

social media header - pink and green theme.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yep, travel in China during most major holidays is a nightmare. I went to Xi'an back during Spring Festival in 2005, before the high speed rail line. It was busy at the Terracotta Warrior Museum but nothing like you had to experience. That looks insane.

Xi'an back then was not lit in LED's like it is today either. I should go back some time, not during a holiday. I love visiting different cities in China on weekends, flights are cheaper and and you can still get in a couple good attractions and relax without crazy lineups. Most of my posts are about my life in China too. Glad I stumbled upon yours, I'm also a Canadian living in China. Good writing.

Awesome man. Weekends are usually enough for short distance trips in China. The winter and summer holidays are good for me because I am off longer than most people so I don't have to deal with too many crowds.

Good vlog :-)

Thank you, Ms. α

Oh yeah I heard about this Chines tradition to move away at some holidays like New year or something like this. That's why when I planed my trip there I noticed with their calendar as so as I didn't want to spend much time while waiting in line.

Posted using Partiko Android

Smart move. Some places actually become empty while other places become unbearable.

It's the most populated country in the world, i'd kinda expect something like this, however i'd also expect the tourism guys to manage things properly especially when there's a huge crowd.

They tried to manage it at the Terracotta warriors but it became too rough. Everyone was pushing and shoving and so they lost a bit of control. It was so packed and everyone wanted to get closer to the entrance instead of standing in a line that was barely moving.

Something like a quota system would help in this occasion that only a certain number of them would be allowed. Even if it’s s holiday they can’t risk health and safety.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post. China have always been one of the country I will like to visit in the future because I have a lot about China and I would like to experience it by myself

Posted using Partiko Android

The chaos of China is one-of-a-kind. Be sure to check it out sometime.

Yeah I feel you on that! I’ve only ever travelled when I have to if my family are over visiting, they don’t seem to understand it’s not a good time to travel 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh my, those crowds are much worse than I remember.

Ever since the stampede in Shanghai a few years back, I don't do crowded places, too much of a risk.

Xian was OK, was there in December 2009.

I've pretty much sworn off travelling during holidays like this. The crowds and lines were became unbearable near the end of the trip. It's best just to stay home or only travel to nearby places during holidays where everyone in China is travelling.

Cool post as you describe this experience it's really a nightmare, what a big crowd!

It really is mentally exhausting. Being surrounded by lines and crowds day after day really does take its toll on you.

Very true! Going to those popular tourist sites during national holidays in China is horrible. I always stayed at home those days when I was there. ;) Where are you heading to during the coming New Year holiday?

Haven't made any official plans yet. Might go to another warmer country or southern China (Chongqing maybe?). Fortunately, I have a longer holiday so I can travel when most people are still working =)

Wow this is insane :O

Tell me about it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73