Could You Sleep on China's Overnight Train?

in #life5 years ago


Yo

I took a trip alone to the city of Changchun in Northern China. Instead of sitting on the high speed train for over 4 hours, I decided to take one of the overnight sleeper trains. The benefit is that it acts as my hotel and train for that night. Killing 2 birds with one stone. It took about 8 hours, but it's more comfortable than sitting in a chair. At least I get to sleep and stretch my legs out.

train station waiting.jpg

I opted for a Soft Sleeper which is one of 4 beds inside a secluded room. The Hard Sleepers are an arrangement of 6 beds per section, but it is open, meaning people can walk through it in the aisles. I recommend the soft sleeper because of the added privacy and it's more comfortable.

time.jpg

The bed's a pretty comfortable but the downside is that the train is quite bumpy. It isn't smooth like the high speed trains, which means that it was difficult for me to fall asleep. You feel the train swaying back and forth and switching tracks and all that. Overall, it wasn't too bad though.

top bunk.jpg

I was situated on the top bunk. They are automatically assigned to you. When you book your ticket, it automatically chooses a spot for you on the train. I would prefer the bottom bunk because of convenience and it is a little more spacious.

The ticket costs 263 RMB ($37.79 USD) and that is a steal because you won't need to spend a night in a hotel, as opposed to taking the high speed train. I highly recommend anyone in China to experience the adventure of taking one of these trains. It's a lot of fun and you never know what strange individuals you will meet in your room!

I arrived in one piece and I will be happy to try this out again in the future. Everything went well.

Thanks for reading & watching

recent posts header - pink and green theme.png


My Ranking of China's Biggest Cities - For Dummies
Check Out This Really Boring Pagoda in China!!!
Visited a UNESCO World Heritage Site in China
Don't Travel in China During a National Holiday!
TASTY Chinese Food Exploration in Xi'an's Muslim Quarter!
The Journey to China's Most Historical City!
Trying (Authentic??) GERMAN Food in China!
"I Cannot Approach Women No Matter How Hard I Try!"


Kenan.png

social media header - pink and green theme.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I hope you enjoyed your journey :), thanks for experiencing us your journey of china train 😊

It was really fun. I enjoyed this train more than I did the high speed rail coming back. Being able to lie down and stretch your legs makes a huge difference.

When i ride in the bus i sleep like a baby. I think in this train would be the same :D

I consider being able to sleep on a bus, plane, train or car as a rare superpower. Unfortunately I don't possess it like you. Lucky bastard.

Don't you dare smile at me. Asshole.

I always envied people who could sleep in a car, train or any another type of transportation. They are really lucky in my opinion lol. No matter how tired I am I cannot do that. I need a real bed. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed. Especially on an airplane. I can't for the life on me sleep on a plane. Maybe you need a real bed because you prefer to rock the bed as opposed to the bed rocking you?

Loool. Indeed. Could not have said it any better. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey man,that looks like a perfect spot to sleep and wake up the next morning with nothing more than your socks.Hahaha.
I have this special ability man,I can sleep everywhere anytime.
We took a flight with 5 friends last year,Athens-Barcelona,it was about 3:30 hours and I slep like a baby.
But we drunk 2 Jameson whiskey bottles at the airport before we took off.
This Vlog was on point dude,good job.

I'm a lucky guy then because I woke up with my socks and a bleeding asshole.

But for real, I envy people like you that can sleep anywhere. You probably fall asleep very quickly too right?

Yeah man, my parents told when that when I was a baby and couldn't sleep,they drove around with the car and I would fall asleep in like 5 minutes.Hahaha.

A very interesting trip my friend ...

It sure was. Good to see you around.

Great video and writeup Kenan! 👍 I've always loved taking soft sleeper train too. Besides meeting new people, I also like watching the outside world slowly go by, and a totally new place appears the next day after waking up.
I remember many years ago when I bought train tickets from a window, I could ask for a bottom bunk. But nowadays most people get the tickets from mobile apps right? :)

Yeah, I use 铁路12306 and it automatically assigns your seat. I have actually never tried to buy a soft sleeper ticket from the window at the train station so you might be able to choose whether you want a bottom bunk if you get one from there... I don't know if they still do that but it would make sense. An elderly person would probably want the bottom bunk.

Yup, each has its benefits. Some people prefer the upper bunk. I downloaded 12306 and 高铁时刻表 before but haven’t used them for a long time:

16038760-BFB9-452C-826B-1E684138F440.jpeg

You haven't used them because you haven't been back to your motherland in a long time. Where in China are you from? I can't remember if I asked you before.

Interesting experience. I prefer chinese train to airplane since it is silent and has more space lol.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Extra space makes a huge difference. The high speed train even has more leg room than an airplane and you get a nice view outside the window.

yep, better experience.

It’s impossible fo me to sleep on a train or even a plane. I am a super light sleeper, so the noises definitely keep me up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hear ya man. We need a support group for people like us. To hell with all those people that can sleep anywhere.

Woah! , MAte the journey looks really good as you'll have to cover 8 hrs, so what's greater than enjoying it slowly and comfortably.

Thanks For Sharing Bro, Loved to watch your Chinese Trip, KeePin eyes on your future VLoGS !!

CHeers!

Thanks a lot man. I'm happy you enjoyed it.

原来你居住在广州。难怪你能看懂中文

Posted using Partiko Android

我从来不居住在广州。一直在河北。那个火车在广州开始了。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75