What Are Beaches in CHINA Like? -- Dirty? Overcrowded?

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

I have this awesome little beach near my home in China and I am surprised I don't spend a lot of time there. For one thing: there is a Shangri-La hotel there with a stellar lunch buffet. Another thing is that it is such a nice place to take a stroll and go swimming.
shangri la.jpg
I think when most people think of beaches in China, they think it is some dirty, overcrowded place with and polluted water.

I have been to several beaches and have never had that bad of a problem. I took a trip to this beach at the end of June and this is what it looked like!
people at beach.jpg
Does it look dirty to you? Overcrowded?

Nah...

The key to finding a good beach in China is to be located in a small city. There are huge megacities that have beaches but they will probably be crowded and dirty. What you need to do is find the smaller cities that don't have as much tourism and go there. My city, Qinhuangdao, is a little over 2 hours away from Beijing by high speed rail. You can actually have a good time here. The water isn't so bad either. I don't mind swimming in the sea in China. Yeah, I might be cautious to swim in a lake or river here, but the sea is vast enough that you'll probably be OK in these waters. Here, you can swim in the Bohai Sea which is located in the northeast coast of China.
boats.jpg
I talk about this more in my video! Check it out!

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great video as always. Speaking of the vampire lifestyle, "facekini" comes to my mind, but I've never seen one in real life, only in news, lol... and I guess I'm really weird as a Chinese who never used umbrella on hot sunny days (mainly because I'm too lazy to do that).
And have you heard of the saying - boiling dumplings (下饺子), to describe huge crowds swimming in the sea? :)

I too have never seen a facekini in real life lol.
下饺子! hahaha. Never heard of that but I will say it one day to my Chinese friends to impress them. Thanks!

下饺子的说法比较多的是在泳池吧~
@kenanqhd,你可以想象下,泳池就是煮饺子的锅,然后每个人是一个饺子,然后你放很多很多饺子下去,代表泳池里有很多很多的人~😂
秦皇岛很多住宿的地方都靠近海边,有些是私有的只有住户才能使用,有些就比较公开~印象中秦皇岛的海滩确实比其他很多地方要干净不少~

Looks pretty comparable to going to a beach in California or somewhere in the United States.

It is funny about the white skin thing and how some of the Chinese try to stay out of the sun. It is funny how different cultures are. And then a lot of Caucasian people here want to get a tan and be in the sun.

Yeah dude. Some of the beaches here aren't so bad. If you go to the island province of Hainan, it's like being in Hawaii.

Girls spend so much time and money to keep their skin as white as possible. All of their makeup products have skin-whiteners in them.

That is so nuts to me. I'm seriously laughing over here because for one I feel so much better if I just even get out in the sun for 5 or 10 minutes. Just letting the sun hit my skin and getting the vitamin D. Also I feel like I look so much better with a little tan. Just more healthy and muscle definition shows up.

Then in another part of the world they are trying to live the vampire life style. Hahhaha

Vampire is right. Whenever they take selfies on their phone, they always use their photo editing app to make their skin whiter. It doesn't matter how white they are, they will always make themselves even whiter in the photo lol!

It's crazy how other cultures perceive something so different from the way you do.

That's hot! Hahhaha

Hahaha... white enough, but I'm afraid her cheekbone and chin won't meet the standard of being hot in East Asia, lol...

It is strange how humans are the same but so different and so certain characteristics wouldn't even be considered hot in other parts of the world but then they would whorship someone and act like a person is a 10 out of 10 in another one.

I was thinking the same thing. I noticed in a few past posts @kenanqhd would talk about how the chinese value white skin or pale skin so wasn't sure how that would jive with goign to the beach and getting a lot of sun

I am really surprised watching your photos about that beach: I was thinking that sea in China could be all ugly and dirty.
Instead your images are completely different from my opinion: maybe because when I visited Yellow River 3 years ago the smell and the dirty water were very bad. That impressed me. I am happy to see that there are also good sea areas in China.
Have a nice travel!

You're right. The rivers and lakes in China are quite polluted and I would not advise anyone go swimming in them. The sea is much better for swimming in and doesn't smell bad.

sounds like the chicago river, people are starting to kayak and paddleboard on there and they have made a bit of an effort to clean it up but i still wouldn't wanna get in that water, when it rains you get raw sewage and chemicals from some of the manufacturing in the area going into there.

Your so right about getting out of the bigger cities. here in Chicago we have some beaches right in the city. they look pretty, its cool sitting out in the water and looking at the chicago skyline, however even though we don't necessarily see the gross stuff floating in the water oftentimes the Chicago beaches will get shutdown because levels of fecal matter or chemicals or pollution or any number of things are too high and they dont want you swimming in there.

Me and my friends normally head out to Southwest Michigan to go to the beaches instead. Its about an hour and 20 minute drive so a bit of a hike but not too terrible. the beaches are less crowded, the water is cleaner, its easier to park, and you can actualy bring a cooler and have a few drinks where in Chicago where its more densely populated and you have more issues they tend to have to be stricter about drinking at the beach.

I've only been to two beach cities in China - Qingdao and Xiamen. Qingdao had a clean beach but it was the less popular one that was more off the beaten path. It actually looks really similar to the beach you went to. The other one was shockingly crowded and there was actually garbage floating in the water.

Xiamen was the same and I chose not to go swimming this time. It's a shame to see beaches get that dirty. Though what surprised me was the size of the garbage cans on the beaches. They had tiny little containers made to serve the thousands of people that frequent the beach. As you might expect, big piles began to form. Not the best sight to see at the beach!

A small beach I went to in Qingdao was also quite nice. Not dirty. Haven't been to the other ones.

Ugh. I know what you're talking about. Tiny garbage cans are rampant in China! lol

Yeah it's kind of strange considering how huge the population is here. I'm sure they'll change it in time though.

Haha, the sea and crowds certainly look normal by western standards, a very very far cry from the insanely crowded or polluted pictures that I've seen in say articles about China

That's certainly another benefit of going to a smaller city... If only I knew to go to them when I was younger, but when I was younger I was super unadventurous and lazy anyway...

I think you can enjoy cleaner non-crowded beaches in smaller cities on the coast. I'm thinking about moving to one of the coastal cities.
I hear Sanya and Hainan beaches are nice.
Beaches near the big cities probably only get crowded during holiday vacations.

Sanya beaches are really nice. Had a great time there!

its a lot better than some of the ones by where I am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98