You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's me dad, your son...

in #life5 years ago

Sorry to hear that. I had to watch my Father suffer through many months of terminal cancer when I was 20. The last few in the hospital basically knocked out on morphine. His earlier requests to just take him out to a field and leave him with an easy out method still haunt me at times.

For me, once quality of life goes, it is time to move on to the next life. Sometimes they just need permission to leave us, sometimes they just aren't sure where to go.

I personally won't be in that position. Luckily in our state, we passed "right to die" laws that permit more honorable ways to go. They are however, generally limited to terminal health issues, mental health is still debatable. And then of course there can be difficulties finding a non-religious hospital that doesn't try to force their beliefs on medicines, even when the law permits. We don't generally allow our pets to suffer, why should we do any less for our loved ones?

A great read for those wanting to keep control of their lives (and deaths) is "Final Exit", among others..

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

Thanks Mate. We don't have the same laws here but I agree with you about quality of life and moving on. Hopefully the policy makers see reason. I'll have a look at that book.

Hope your weekend is going well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83