Biblical or pop culture, you tell me?

in #life7 years ago

Do you know the difference between biblical verse and popular saying?
Biblical or pop culture, you tell me?

For each of the following statements decided if it is biblical or not. The true test is if you can name the reference to these statements.


1. God helps those who help themselves.
2. This too shall pass.

3. Hate the sin. Love the sinner.

4. The devil can quote scripture.

5. God works in mysterious ways.  

6. Money is the root of all evil.

After failing to answer most of these correctly, I thought I would ask you.

Can you spot the biblical statements above?

Have you used these before?

Can you tell me their origin?


These common phrases are often used, but where do they come from?

  1. “God helps those who help themselves” is a fable by Algernon Sidney, often credited to Benjamin Franklin. It was used it in his Poor Richard's Almanack (1736)
  2. “This too shall pass” is a proverb from the medieval Levent.
  3. “Hate the sin. Love the sinner.” Quote from Mahatma Gandhi.
  4. The devil can quote scripture. Quote from Merchant of Venice.
  5. “God Works in mysterious ways” is a hymn by William Cowper.
  6. “Money is the root of all evil.” This is a misquote of 1 Timothy 6:10.

How many did you get right?

Doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kubby Elizabeth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

And these are just a few that we often quote as biblical.

So very true, so wise my dear friend!

I got all right....if I get to keep my point that 4 is from the Bible ...when Jesus is in wilderness and Devil comes to tempt him. Devil quotes scripture, but Jesus shoots him right back down, teaching him the true meaning.

But....other than #4, I had learned through the years that these arent actually from the Bible.
Thanks!!!!

Id never actually heard #4 said as a pop quote/statement before

Bravo my friend! You have done very well. Have you heard of any other similar to these?

“God won’t give you any more than you can handle.”

THIS page discusses this one.

That is awesome, wish I had it to add to my post

upvoted and followed you if you like cuteaniamals please follow me

I don't see your upvote, are you sure you did?

It's a copy/paste spammer.

Yep and unfortunately many of those his spams follows him back. :(

Those kinds of people have feeds so full of junk they will never see a single thing he does. If that’s all he did to get there follow then they did not spend the time to remember his name or bookmark somewhere his page so they can check back every week.

If they don’t stop and think and question then they are more likely like him trying to game the system. They can game the follow system all they want it won’t bring eye balls onto his blogs.

So, I would not feel bad about it. Most of those people are follow 4 follow and never ask “if I’m only following people for a follow and they are only following me for a follow –whos going to read and upvote my work?” Those people are often too busy to do any reading as they are always out trying to get more people to follow lol.

Then you have numbers like your they are more hard earned. You have a higher rate of return on those who choose to follow you :)

Very valid point, pause and do a happy dance with me for reaching 400 followers! I now am a greater target for F4F. It is part of the game here and I am taking the stand that it is to be humorous. I really do feel for these individuals.

However, very few if any of them have an AMAZING reader like you always commenting and making me feel super special with each post. I would take 5 of you instead of 5,000 F4F.

You my friend are golden!

Thanks for being awesome. I truly look forward to your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62