California Trip Part 1

in #life5 years ago

Planning the Vacation

Last summer a friend invited me to a beach volleyball doubles tournament. Our schedules and skill level didn't align. We didn't end up entering the tournament, but the experience of playing on sand verse indoor left me wanting more.

Many games later, I entered and lost two tournaments. I then decided it was time for some coaching. 1x1 coaching helped a lot, which also lead to watching a ton of Youtube videos of pros playing. One of those videos offered a week-long training camp in California.

I also learned about the AVP tournaments, the association of volleyball professionals. These tournaments are only in the USA, they have another abbreviation for international tournaments. I haven't fully grasped how the point system works to qualify to play in them just yet.

Nonetheless, they were hosting various tournaments and three of them were going to be in the same area that the camp is hosted. After looking at various dates, setting a serious budget, the trip was planned for late August. I was going to fly in a day earlier to watch the 2nd to last day of the tournament.

Not my first time in LA

LA area to me is boring. Some of the nearby beaches are nice, but nothing is as beautiful as Hermosa. It's a smoke-free beach, with lots of local boutiques and restaurants, which are much cheaper than the restaurants and boutiques in Florida. My hostel was above a restaurant with my window facing the beach. Waking up to the ocean and watching the Sunset will forever be missed.

California is known for its terrible traffic and heaven like weather. One is not worth the other unless on vacation then one enjoys it all and calls it part of the experience. Much to my surprise, homes in California aren't installed with AC units. Most leave their windows open for the breeze and close them at night because of the cold. This is amazing and must be experienced! There is no humidity. The heat is dry, but not a killer. It is truly heaven weather that keeps many living longer. Since you can be active and outside all year long, everyone is very active.

I live on the East coast of the USA and traveling West means no more AC units, no more humidity, and no more eastern time zone. For the next week, I would be playing an interesting game of,

what time is it here and what time is it back home?



The flight was five hours, but I would arrive two hours after leaving.

That was fun explaining. It did also give me more time to explore when I did finally arrive. Exploring was fun and most of my walking was done on the first day.

After that, I woke up around the same time every day and headed down to the beach for training.

I woke up usually 3 to 5 five hours before training each day. Unable to adjust to the time zone.

Which was great because I took most of my phone interviews in the morning with coffee while sitting at the beach.

I was living the dream. Stay tuned for part two and many many more pictures...


Small steps away from the beach. Giant leaps when training with a coach!

Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Love always,



Sort:  

Ha! Try flying from Australia to west coast USA. Despite being on a plane for about 13 or so hours, you arrive on the same day 5 hours before you left. Obviously going the other way you arrive about a week later... (slight exageration but you get the point).

Ha, I can't even imagine the fun and how complicated that would be to try to explain to a nontraveler.

Ahh that timezone thing. Reminds me of one time hearing my phone ringing way too early in the morning. By the time I roused myself enough to answer it, it had gone to voicemail. Realising it was my mother that had called, I hastily checked the message, to overhear a conversation between her and my aunty where my aunty was telling my mum it was 6am where I was and my mum exclaiming "oh dear" and quickly hanging up XD

Awesome that you're living your dream :D

hahaha, when I went to college there was an hour or so difference and mom always loved to call early Saturday morning. Actually, now that I think about it she still calls early on the weekends.

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Hi @kubbyelizabeth, as a MAPX token-holder you just got an upvote.

This message is to introduce our latest MAXUV vote bond. It is able to deliver up to 200% vote weight at 0.1% per token per post per day. MAXUV is also open-ended so can scale with increasing users. Please read the launch post and the promotions leading up to HF21. Have a fine day!
[promo dates: 17-27 Aug]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93