Prep work when looking for work

in #life6 years ago

How do you prep for a job interview?

Does it change depending on your country of origin?

Recently, I've been on twenty-seven or so interviews.

It was as horrible as it sounds. However, I learned a few tricks and thought I would share with you some of my findings. Just in case, you decided not to Steem full-time. Everything is my opinion and intended hopefully not to bore you away. Don't leave me!

The sites I use to look for employment are as follows:

  • ZipRecruiter
  • CareerBuilder
  • Indeed

These are the top three I search often. Care.com is a local part-time site I use as well. It is designed for people looking for babysitters or part-time help. I had one interview here that was really odd because the guy was looking for an assistant, but he seemed so lost about everything. It was an odd encounter.

Once I find a position I like, I quickly look at their website and glassdoor.com. This site usually has reviews from former employees and I find it very helpful when digging for questions. Some people recommend, editing your resume before searching. Some say edit your resume for each job. YOU DO YOU For the line of work I was looking for it didn't need too much editing. I do, however, always keep my LinkedIn account up to date. My first two jobs after college were found because of the recruiters on there.

If you are looking for a sales job, stay up to date on the site. Also, I follow J.T. O'Donnell. She has a youtube channel called Work it daily Her tips, helped me focus my time and attention when applying. Whenever I felt discouraged I would watch her videos and really feel improved to continue in the job search and be more patient with the process.

I really liked these videos and watched some more often than others.

Prep work is important, but remember it is a numbers game. If the job you are going for has several applicants then you applying to several similar jobs is important. Just in case, you don't get the first job you apply for have a few back up's. Also, keep in mind nothing is set in stone until you sign paperwork and even then it's relative

My Prep Process

Look for work.

  1. Update Resume
  2. Update Linkedin
  3. Decided what kind of job I would like.

Side Note:
At this point, I made a list of nonnegotiables. Write down salary requirements. Job bonus points, this got kinda silly and more like a dream lifestyle, but it helped me avoid applying for jobs that would never allow me to do what I ultimately want to do. Acceptable compromise list. This part helped me find a job genre.

4.. Contact Recruiters that have reached out in the past
5.. Apply, Apply, Apply
6.. See number four

What does your process look like? Have you had to search for work or always had someone recommend you?


Sort:  

The last two jobs I had I was headhunted, and it was for a fairly specific thing (Drupal development). Prior to that I got temp jobs because I knew people or people that knew people. And more prior to that, well I never got past the interview stage as I don't interview well XD

Hope something perfect drops in your lap soon, or you can steem full time, whatever is better XD

goatsig

We shall do both until steem moons and hodls :)

Sounds like you got it going on!

I have found that location, location, location is a biggie. There are just some places that are better when it comes to the job market. I have always been fortunate to live where the demand for employees made it easier to find a job. I will say that updating LinkedIn probably my number one recommendation when searching for a job because they are looked get looked at every time they are updated. That means a new set of eyes looks at them and that can't be all bad. I wish you much luck and getting that job! As an aside, once you graduate college, they usually have a service on campus that helps you link up with alumni for recommendations and help. One of the very best in between jobs that I have ever had was to work as a nanny. The pay is normally High and the work is generally very pleasant. If I went that route, I would definitely go through an agency. They usually have very select family. Good luck and let us know how you make out.

Tip!

Thanks for the tip,l! You are so generous:) can you believe that I went through three hiring agencies, followed up with EVERY recuirter that has contacted me. Still it took a lot of prayer before I finally got a job to stick.

Hi @kubbyelizabeth! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Chck out this new post from @dswigle: Click. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators - pays out 100% of profit + 50% curation rewards to all investors.

I try Linkedin and was hired through Craiglist probably too years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76