You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can you live off steemit?

in #life6 years ago

He is a number of many users that basically live off the Steem blockchain.

This is not accurate.

I am focusing full time on many different income-generating cryptocurrency projects and in the almost two years I've been here have cashed out very little STEEM to pay for my living expenses, even after going full time at the beginning of this year. If someone is living on Steemit rewards then they are essentially using money from investors who support the token price. If they are not contributing more value than they are extracting, then they are essentially mooching off of others.

I do not condone that.

I did a post yesterday with more about how we need to shift our mindset in terms of not just value extraction but value creation.

For a better understanding of my perspective on STEEM and Steemit, please see this post:

#SteemitIsToMe: Relationships, Reputation, and Rewards.

Please view the entire tweet thread instead of just taking that one tweet out of context and suggesting that I'm encouraging people to go full time on Steemit.

I think cryptocurrency is a highly speculative environment. Unless someone paid off their house, has savings, and is a place to take extreme financial risk, I would never recommend they quit their job to be involved in this space. The "get rich by blogging" mentality is not accurate. Value creation is what matters.

Sort:  

Thanks for the observation @lukestokes, I already modified the content. I forgot to add that before, especially being a holder of EOSdac.

I've been involved in many cryptocurrency projects for over 5 years (many long before eosDAC).

He is a number of many users that basically live off the Steem blockchain while investing in other cryptocurrencies too

I appreciate the edit, but it still implies I live off the STEEM blockchain. That's not what I do and that can be verified by looking at my withdrawal history. I have traded STEEM for some other crypto currencies at times and I will probably use my STEEM holdings for living expenses in the future, but I haven't done so yet.

Accuracy is important to me, especially the message spread to others, including those in the developing world who really need more opportunities for economic freedom. I want them to succeed, but I don't want them to hope in empty promises or inaccurate information. Cryptocurrency speculation is for those who can afford to lose whatever they put in. That's what I've been doing for 5 years. It's not a get-rich-quick approach.

Yeah. It is good for users to know what they are in for rather than think its a platform for getting rich overnight. I hope this edit addresses the issue. I am open to corrections @lukestokes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87