You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breathe In, Breathe Out

in #life7 years ago

With time I have learnt that I need to put myself first, that it is ok to say "no" without having to make an excuse for it, that it really doesn't matter what people think, those who truly love me and care about me will still be there when I'm ready.

That is a powerful statement.

We can become so engrossed in what others want from us that we forget what it means to care for ourselves.

You're right, those who truly care for you will still be there when you are ready. Thank you for sharing this.

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your comment! It took me some time and tears to realise that. It is so easy to lose yourself when you're constantly trying to please and care for others, it's completely fine and necessary to be selfish every now and then and put yourself first, mental health is just as important xx

It is so easy to lose yourself when you're constantly trying to please and care for others...

That path spirals downward faster than any of us ever wish it would.

I've been there myself and the climb out is partially invigorating, and at the same time painful. The change in focus takes effort to execute.

I love reading honest answers and soulful words written in vulnerability. If you keep writing, I'll be here to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46