Breathe In, Breathe Out

in #life7 years ago

I enjoy my time alone, when I am too stressed out or been around other people for a while, I get overwhelmed quite easily, I tend to overthink and anxiety kicks in. That's why, more often than not, I need to be alone, to disconnect from everything and focus on myself.

With time I have learnt that I need to put myself first, that it is ok to say "no" without having to make an excuse for it, that it really doesn't matter what people think, those who truly love me and care about me will still be there when I'm ready.

"Everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Be kind, always"

image
Photo of me.

Sort:  

With time I have learnt that I need to put myself first, that it is ok to say "no" without having to make an excuse for it, that it really doesn't matter what people think, those who truly love me and care about me will still be there when I'm ready.

That is a powerful statement.

We can become so engrossed in what others want from us that we forget what it means to care for ourselves.

You're right, those who truly care for you will still be there when you are ready. Thank you for sharing this.

Thanks a lot for your comment! It took me some time and tears to realise that. It is so easy to lose yourself when you're constantly trying to please and care for others, it's completely fine and necessary to be selfish every now and then and put yourself first, mental health is just as important xx

It is so easy to lose yourself when you're constantly trying to please and care for others...

That path spirals downward faster than any of us ever wish it would.

I've been there myself and the climb out is partially invigorating, and at the same time painful. The change in focus takes effort to execute.

I love reading honest answers and soulful words written in vulnerability. If you keep writing, I'll be here to read.

Thank you for your comment! xx

This happens to me all the time, and I'm alone most of the time. I don't really like to talk about my problems, and the one person who I could talk to, I pushed her away, and now she doesn't care.

It's okay though! Life happens, and it is true, everyone has their own problems. Cheers! :)

I get you, it sucks how the people who care and that we trust are also the ones we hurt most easily. Im sorry you had to go through that, hopefully it's a lesson learned, right?

There's nothing wrong with being alone, you have to learn to enjoy your own company first so you can feel comfortable around other people. It is still a struggle for me, that's why I need to be alone so often. But hey, life is a journey, not a destination, it's a constant learning process.
Wishing you the best xx

Thank you! And right back at you :)

Thanks, I'm trying my best! xx

I have been struggling with stress for a long time now and it is having big effects on my health. I always had a feeling my work was giving me too much stress but I was never able to put my finger on it where the stress at work exactly was coming from.

Reading this post made me realize this might be the reason why. My work forces me to be around other people all the time. It is so exhausting. I never feel like having enough time to relax.

I don't know what I am going to do about it but at least I have figured out where to start.

Wow really thank you for your post :)

You are very welcome! I'm so happy to hear it might have helped you in some way, having an idea of what may be causing the issue is a great start. It took me a long time to realise what was actually happening to me and a bit more to know what I needed to do about it. If thats a journey you want to experience by yourself and not seek professional help, you have to be patient and try again and again until you find something that works for you. Maybe see if taking even a 5 min break and, as obvious as it sounds, just breathe. It has really helped me.
I hope it gets better for you! Thank you so much for your comment xx

In & Out ...

❤️ that last quote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75