You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Was Assaulted by a Mentally Ill Homeless Man on My Way to Brunch

in #life6 years ago

Wow, that is terrifying. Glad you’re okay. I honestly wouldn’t know how to feel in that situation. It’s really sad that we imprison people who are sick, and there’s no way he is going to get any help or rehabilitation, but we also have to look out for our safety and the safety of others. There’s just no good option.

Sort:  

It's unfortunately true. If I had the choice to "suggest him for mental health evaluation because it was his psychological state that assaulted me," I would've chosen that in a heartbeat. In the moment, I wrestled with choosing simply "disorderly conduct" which would result in an almost immediate return to the streets. In both situations, it was me who had the say for how the next few months or next few years of a stranger's life would be. I hope I chose well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72