You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Disrupting Death - Ushering my mother on Her Way in My Own Way

in #life6 years ago

We had our mom stay at home to pass on and then stay in the house with us for a day or so. We do need to bring death back from behind the closed doors in the hospital to being at home - as part of living.

I do have to take issue with you saying we took birth back 15 years ago. I had my first baby at home 35 years ago and there was a strong movement of women doing that - taken birth back, fighting for Vbacks, showing the world that breastfeeding is the thing to do and all of that :)

Sort:  

Bravo for being an outlier - I was roughly alluding to Home birth coming into the mainstream about 15 years ago:) I don't have the privilege of being a mom and in no way meant to minimize the heroic efforts that have been going on for entirety of women braving against the colonization of their being and bodies!:)

:) No offense taken at all. hey, I am doing a daily freewrite prompt challenge. I would love for you to join us. It is easy. Read the prompt. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write whatever comes to mind without stopping or letting the inner critic awake. Publish. done :) here is today's prompt if you want to play https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-13-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-crazy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63