TO QUIT or NOT TO QUIT?

in #life6 years ago

The job that makes you crack up

Slowly and sneakily it defeats you...

I know a person (or a few of them) who has stayed or currently stays at a job that makes them crazy. I have also been there before; stayed in a place like that for a while before I realized I must leave before my head explodes. To be honest, another reason for leaving was the fact that I moved to a different city so it would have been impossible to continue working there. I'm not even sure if I would have had the balls to just quit, if I wouldn't have moved away. And this is what disturbs me: so many of us (including me) are too resilient and strong and just keep on going in bad circumstances, even if it makes them unhappy and stressed every day. Sadly many of them crack up just before they realize they MUST do something to be happier. Usually these kinds of jobs drain you both mentally and physically so slowly and sneakily, that it's not easy to notice how exhausted you are before it's too late and you're already breaking down.

The topic of the month (read: several months)

What's the point of staying in a workplace that drains you completely? A job that takes all your time and energy and doesn't give you anything back. It's not satisfying in any level, it's just basic shitty labour. Even the salary is pitiful. A job that makes you miserable in so many ways, of which one is that you can't have an influence on anything. If you open your mouth and suggest some changes there could be done to make things work better, somebody always gets offended and nothing ever changes. Sounds horrible, doesn't it?

After one has suffered there for a while, all the joy disappears and working becomes forced. In the end one might end up purely hating it. When they open their eyes in the morning, the first thing on their mind is that all they want to do is to burst into tears, continue sleeping and wouldn't even mind getting fired. They don't care the tiniest bit about what people think and what would happen after that. Everything's hazy.

The photo is taken with my iPhone SE in one morning run last fall.

It's not easy to watch someone dear to you to go trough this either. The frustration is maximal when you see they are so fed up with all that, but there's nothing you can do to help them except listen and support in whatever it is they want to do to solve things. I'm always generating ideas and trying to help them find better options, but I've noticed it doesn't help much. I guess it's not about the lack of better options, but more like figuring how to deal with the problem at hand and how to quit the job without burning bridges and causing more trouble. After all no one wants to leave their mates in the lurch. It's like they see the light but can't go after it and it can't reach them either.

All development ends to satisfaction!

I've often heard that people like us (employed) shouldn't be complaining, since we are so blessed to even have jobs in an economical situation like this, where there are so many unemployed and no jobs left. I think that's bullshit. Of course we have the right to open our mouths. We have earned the our statuses (which by the way isn't that good ATM) and jobs, and we have every right to point the grievances in order to improve the conditions. It shouldn't be so that you must act happy and stay quiet if you are lucky enough to have a job. Nothing ever improves and develops if people act they're satisfied especially if it's actually the opposite.

Although the grass might not be greener on the other side, you will never figure that out if you aren't willing to take the risk. In the worst case scenario you will end up in equally bad situation as previously, but there's also the possibility that you'll find the joy and excitement of working again. At least you will get to meet new people, network and learn something new work wise, and probably from yourself as well. You'll be one experience richer. After taking some actions towards the better, you will also get to be proud of yourself for taking the leap. Why don't you try it? After all, it's just a job.

XXXX,

Sort:  

The problem arises for me when I'm ordered to do something with which I disagree. It will not happen and I will leave the job before compromising my principles. So far I think I've left about 15 jobs and I don't regret leaving any of them.

Wow, that's something; 15 jobs behind! Hopefully you have finally found the one you can put up with.

To me compromising itself (in small things) isn't a problem, but if too many notable things are poorly, e.g. the atmosphere isn't good and other peoples work ethics are bad, then I start suffering and the downhill begins..

I now look after my wife full time so probably won't work again. Paying no income tax helps. Especially as I know what happens to it. I'm not expected to follow orders anymore. Being a carer means I have no money but at least my conscience is clear. Most jobs are just made up useless 'occupations' anyway. The job I do now is by far the most fulfilling and important job I've ever had. I can tell by how much the government values it. £64 a week I get.

I appreciate the fact that you value caring your spouse higher than working, although it means poor income and basically no day offs or free time whatsoever. Unbeliavably shitty payment for such an important occupation.

Thanks. I wish the govt saw it the same way. Unfortunately the psychological operation programs like benefits street have served to put 'benefits'(another psy op) claimants as liars, thieves and vagabonds in the eyes of the majority of the public.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-14T14:13:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 16.60/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It's easier to stay in crappy familiar situation than leave and maybe end up into a crappy unknown situation. And it's really hard to say to someone the real reason why you're leaving, if the reason is that the situation or job is making you feel crap. Too much politeness should be banned.

Beautiful photo by the way! :)

I guess that's true, at least it's familiar territory altough you're in deep shit..
I don't know if it's my imagination or not, but I feel like nowadays people are a bit more understanding about such things. Maybe it's because burn outs and such are so common and we're more aware of the risks related to working hard..
Anyway, that's also true; it's still difficult to admid out load if you're tired and want to quit and some might fear they look weak in others eyes..

I don't know if it's my imagination or not, but I feel like nowadays people are a bit more understanding about such things. Maybe it's because burn outs and such are so common and we're more aware of the risks related to working hard.

I think so too. It also might be that nowadays it's OK to pursuit happiness, not only fulfill your place in the society by working hard 'till you drop dead and not complaining if you're not in an ideal situation / dream-job.

That's true, at least among younger population. :)

Oh, and thanks for the compliment @jokinmenipieleen! :) I like it too. I have an obsession for foggy weather, haha.

Congratulations @meandyou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I appreciate an individual who can speak their mind. So many of us can't open up about things but there's a level were you have to take care of yourself -- there's no way around that, and you remind me of someone who's straightforward.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57