Devil Mary Beers!

in #life5 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20190608103306706.jpg

Jumping Hedgehogs of GLORY! It's Saturday. The rain has momentarily stopped which in Scotland means everyone is drinking alcohol in a desperate effort to stay wet.

Who am I to shun the herd?

So let's be having you!

This week it's all about the spice. I have two beers. Each with Chilli. The first of the Mary beers is the Bloody Mary porter. I love Bloody Mary's!!!

So let us beat about no more bushes with our pointy smeddom sticks. Let us get drinky!

Welcome, the tintabulous...

bewarebeard_20181201210101011_20181208161354292_20181215195911605_20190608103707329.jpg

Henderson's Relish... I thought it was a spicy sauce and indeed it is. But it has been reimagined in this case to be a principal ingredient in this Bloody Mary Smoked Porter. How fabulous does that sound? Awesome biscuits.

Pour the smoky spicy bugger!

20190608_204805.jpg

Oofty McGroofty! What a slinky black beast. I was half expecting it to be reddish brown in colour what with all the Bloody Mary talk but no. It's black and tan like a purring Doberman.

Can't wait!!

Incredible! What a devilishly smoky, dank, sooty beer. A fantastic smoked porter in almost every sense of the word. Except... Where was my spice? Where were the chillies? Where was the relish? Boo, bloody nowhere. And that was its selling point.

As a result, a beer which could have gone all the way to the top will have to settle for a very good but not magnificent 8/10 booms!

Dammit, it could have been so much more!

Will the next give me the chilli hit I so desire?

bewarebeard_20181201210101011_20181208161354292_20181215195911605_20190608104025032.jpg

The by now, famous Mexicake beer! I have reviewed three different varieties of this over the years and each one, except for the rum barrel version (too rum'y) was a winner.

If you don't know, it's a dark beer brewed with barley, oats, chilli, vanilla and cinnamon. The normal brand has Chipotle chillis but this one appears to only have mullato. Hmm. Let's see if it affects the result.

Aged for 12 months in Virgin American Oak barrels. Sounds funky!

20190608_210812.jpg

Bloody hell, is it night-time? Did a flock of oily bats just flit into my glass? It's deadly black, kind of like the muck from a Texans arse after eating brisket.

Damn.

And it's 11.8% ABV. That's just mental.

Here goes!

Good grief, I didn't think they could improve on the original but this is a damn corker! Let me say this, if you don't like barrel aged beers you will hate it but if you do...

It's got chocolate, it's got chilli heat, vanilla, cinnamon, more chocolate, smokiness and bags and bags of boozy whisky alcohol. It's almost too much but just about manages to be a headfuck that you can't help but fall in love with.

Like the Good Lady in some respects.

Hot damn, 10/10 BOOMS!!!

RAAR!!

I'm off to do 7 press ups without drunkenly falling over. Wish me luck!

20190608_214106.jpg

Sort:  

Seems you have a great weekend and some funny beers. Chilly, hmmmm!

I stayed with a Trapiste Rocheforte 8 wich comes with 9.2 % ABV and many different tastes.

Anyway, you have to get a !BEER for this great post.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven't tried that one but it sounds ace!!

The beers are lovely and great. Cheers for the beer!!!

hahaaa 'a bit menstrual' at first I thought what does singing have to do with beer?? you know, as in minstral LOL...damn my ears!

As for the Mexicake....mmnn got tipsy just reading your description lol....I shall be searching out some of that deliciousness

Haha. Minstrel. That would be an altogether different video if I minstrelled up! Lol.

It was and is truly fab, thankfully it's so strong that it can't be horsed quickly!

Great result this week as they look like diesel in a glass. I have never seen beer so dark with no head like the last one. Biltong is great especially the chilli sticks as they are perfect for nibbling on while having drinks. Have a great weekend.

I have never actually tried biltong but am keeping an eye out for it. The chilli ones especially sound fab!

I haven't seen too many like that second one either. Was gloopy and thick like syrup!!

Don't buy any locally as it will most likely be crap. Next time I come over I will bring an array of goodies that will keep you chomping for a while. There are two or three varieties I stick too and the chilli sticks are superb.

Woohoo!! I would be a very happy man!!! I will have to be careful on the second bottle of that Mexicake stuff, I will be out killing cows and making my own! :0D

Yay for finding a 10/10 XD

Purring doberman? o_O LoL XD

I love the purring doberman! It was perfect for this one. ;0)

And an epic cinematic moment as you drifted off into beer paradise on Beer#2 - another great review!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, I had a bit of fun with that moment!! :0D

It's all about dreamy time in video two as beer 2 - the oil tanker leak sends Boom into 7th heaven!

You deserved a 10/10 after last weeks suspect ale, I hope you got langered on this one last night! :)

I did man, I was honking!! Then I had to gad about today, nightmare!

Lol, I think you are the only person that watched that video!! Actually the second person!!

Great choices - Biltong is o good. Good South African accent there. I see a 10\10 hangover also coming on

I felt remarkably fine. Which was quite amazing!

even although you can't understand what he is saying. he seems to have picked a couple of winners for you this week.

If only it were the same every week!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.215 which ranks you at #267 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 268).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11