Edinburgh's End

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1335065217-picsay.jpg

Roll 'n sausage, BoomDawg!

El Jefe grinned and waved a paper bag at me. I thumped the monitor I was carrying onto a random desk and trotted over to where a few of the guys were sitting in the kitchen area of our new Edinburgh office.

It was my last day there. The manual labour that we had been drafted in to do was all largely done and we were being replaced by a strange bunch of pot-bellied men who were dragging in big cabinets of full of what looked like multi-coloured spaghetti.

sgunvr.jpg

I flumped down next to Charlie the Red who acknowledged me with a mouth full of what was hopefully bacon.

Awriii Boomfoff?

Charlie the Red mumbled through his mouthful.

I gave the bacon mouthed idiot a brutally handsome smile.

El Jefe passed me the bag containing my roll 'n sausage, a Scottish delicacy. Our sausages, unlike anywhere else in the world are square. Well, that's a lie. They are almost square. Slightly rectangular. They are most definitely not cock-shaped, the way the rest of the world seems to like their sausage.

sgunvr_20180511165222021.jpg

I tucked into my breakfast and for the next ten minutes, the few of us at the table ate in companionable silence interrupted only by Charlie the Red's nasal grunts as he gamely attempted to breathe and chew at the same time.

As we were finishing up El Marron waddled over with his strange chimp-like gait.

When I saw him approach I rolled my eyes disdainfully.

Watch out, here comes fannybaws.

I muttered conspiratorially.

sgunvr_20180511165637716.jpg

El Jefe snorted with laughter.

The Beast from the East!

He added gleefully.

I and Charlie chuckled. Since coming to Edinburgh El Jefe seemed to be a different person. He had developed a sense of humour and over the last few days, I found that I no longer felt like randomly attacking him and making him eat my morning poo.

sgunvr_20180511170216952.jpg

El Marron stopped beside our table. A deeply suspicious look on his face at our merriment.

Aw aye, aw aye. Break time for you Glasgow boys eh. Yeez have only been in an hour?

I stood upright with a jerk. Everyone jumped. My eyes darted frantically left and right.

Hot shit? Can you hear that? Is that a fucking mouse? Does this place have mice?

I squawked in mock panicked tone.

sgunvr_20180511172850208.jpg

El Marron's eyes darted about and he yipped a little in panic.

Whit ye talking aboot? This place is...

There is it again, I definitely heard a bloody mouse...

I cut El Marron off and looked about me quizzically stretching out a finger and waving it about till it came to rest pointing in El Marron's brown whiskered direction.

Oh it's you! Sorry, I thought we had mice!

I exclaimed over theatrically.

El Marron's face coloured.

Aye, very good. Get back to work ya lazy shower.

sgunvr_20180511183531461.jpg

He stamped off muttering real swear words under his breath.

So BoomDawg, you putting in for a transfer to the Edinburgh office then?

Snickered El Jefe.

Aye, right!

I laughed and stuck my hand out for a high five. El Jefe slipped me the requisite amount of skin and we all giggled at the thought of anyone being mad enough to work for El Marron.

I looked at El Jefe. Was this the start of a new friendship? He had always been such a used condom of a man before. Perhaps we would end up the best of mates back in Glasgow? Getting honking mad drunk on Friday nights and fighting ruffians in the streets like bro-hams of the wild frontier?

sgunvr_20180511183904178.jpg

I nudged Charlie the Red.

Anyway, we've got enough on our plates with the boss that we've got, eh Charlie?

Charlie guffawed like he had been hit in the happy sacks with a hammer.

El Jefe froze. His face looked like there were two kittens fighting under the skin. Then he frowned.

Let's keep it professional eh lads?

He stalked off in the same direction as El Marron.

I shook my head.

Ah well. Still an arse then.

Sort:  

Unique. That's what you are. Glad I found your blog again.

Thank you very much! :0)

Great thing, you have finished your Edinburgh office fixing...I used to think that being friendly with boss or opposite with the employees is good strategy, but unfortunately if there is no distance, disasters could happen. We tried all models, democratic, tiran, half-half none of them functioned. The only one, functioning that will make us love and respect each other is so-called enough distance model...

Distance is the only way. Otherwise it all gets a bit muddy. I normally remember but the different location made me lax!

Yes, I understand...

haha, some good natured humor in this story, ay and for sure. I have to admit, I think I like this story line maybe the best, it shows you in your natural state with your wry humor and skill set that sets up apart from the heathens you work with.
I must say I was a bit disappointed in my auto voter, which seems to be on the lam, not working at all properly. Luckily I checked my feed for my daily dose of meesterboom.

I keep @meesterboom on a steady saline drip... I had him set in my AV for 20 minutes, but couldn't wait, so I voted early. You know what they say in Chi-town! Vote early and vote often. :)

lol, now that you mention it, I think mine is set like that also, so maybe I just jumped the gun so to speak. He is easily worth the wait though. The guy is pure Scottish genius.

Flattery bastart ;O)

Who? Me? Nah, it is the unvarnished truth!

It happens with those things. I didn't bother with them for the longest time because just when you think everything is a ok you check and they haven't been working!!

Hehe, I do something like telling an unvarnished tale :0)

it says it is working but maybe I just didn't wait long enough and saw your post shortly after you made it. You really don't need an autovoter for me, I always remind you. (tehe, kidding),;)

Hahaha, oh know you remind me!! Not anymore though. I am sure you promised... :0p

that wasn't a reminder, just a reminder that I used to remind you, so yes I promised I wouldn't tell you I have new posts up. ;)

I knew it wasnt a remider :O)

Man, how can you produce one of this every day and always this freaking quality?

It takes me an hour and a half just to find a way out of my procrastination state to start writing a micro story!!!

Hehe, it just flows out! but cheers, thats nice of you to say!

once an arse, always an arse. I think he has the hots for the scarlet Carlata boss - "so no kidding around about our lovely boss and I mean it!!" lol

He could have, everyone in my work has the good for the Carlate woman, its beyond a joke!!

Your writing style comes across so aggressively...

I quite like it o.O

So do I, hehe!

Your expressions are hilarious! I simply love it!
a used condom of a man = I'm going to re-use it.
The other day I said to a friend "your face look like you just stick your dick into a wolf"/"you look like you just found the toilet stuck with poo" (last one was it something like that???)
I am using your expressions in my daily life! I have no clue where you get those from, I don't think they are that common in Scotland, but I really wanted to thank you for sharing your wisdom with us.

Hehe excellent. Most of them I just make up on the spot. I am glad they are getting some further use!!!

Ahah! What was that other one that you wrote some time ago? Regarding the lady? She looked like she found toilet blocked with poo?
You should make a post collecting all those expressions.

I should, I have coined quite a few good ones!

Oh, he's that kind, loves a good joke at someone else's expense, can't laugh at himself- yep an arse haha!

Off to a graduation party, we'll be drinking together in spirit tonight me boom!

Oh that sounds fabby!! One day we will be drinking together in the flesh so to speak!!! :0D

Generally speaking, Boom, I have found once an arse, always an arse, with nary an exception.

I think you are right, I shall be remembering that for future!

I once had a boss like that, moodier than anyone I've ever known! She's be laughing with you one moment and then have her war-face on the next like you just kicked her cat or something. What I figured out was to stay aloof, then it seemed she never felt the need to put me in my place. Rather, it almost seemed like she was trying to make more jokes to reel me back in to her drama.

Oh no, Boss-Lady! Not falling for that again...U5dtGZvq9gC869kdPoGAsUCBNefoe33_1680x8400.jpeg

I might try the aloof thing! It will be a fascinating experiment!

Haha! Can't wait to hear the results!😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14