Nathan

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-458400550.jpg

The sun was shining. The temperature was rumoured to get up to 9 degrees today.

It was a little before midday so we were only at 8 degrees so far.

That mattered not to the people of Scotland who were effervescent with excitement. In the park, where we stood, people strode about in shorts and t-shirts smiling and laughing.

It was fucking freezing.

I huddled deeper into my winter jacket and watched the little boom play. He was attempting to climb up something. He too had a big winter jacket to keep him warm.

Nearby him a small boy about four years old sat clutching his knees and shivering. Obviously learning how to be Scottish.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203300125_20190409140539820_20190410162036502_20190414115738305.jpg

The poor little tyke was wearing shorts and a vest. A vest being a wifebeater to our transatlantic cousins.

Interestingly, wifebeater is the nickname we Scots give to the beer Stella Artois.

I was hungover as anything. Despite the golden sun hanging like a fiery lion's testicle in the sky, everything seemed bleak.

I tried to remember a time before hungover morning visits to play parks. Was there one? I had a vague recollection of sleeping late followed by lazy lunches.

Surely such a thing couldn't be possible?

SATAN!!

I jerked out of my reverie. What the fuck? Satan!? Here? I hadn't even showered.

A woman nearby was shielding the sun from her eyes looking frantically about.

SATAN!?!

She shouted, terror in her voice.

She had every right to be terrified. If I wasn't so hungover I would be too at the news of the Dark Lord's escape from the underworld.

She ran forward then back, eyes darting about desperately.

Satan!!!! Where are you?!?

I was about to reassure her that she shouldn't worry, Satan would find her, when a grubby little boy about three years old came out of a climbing frame and grabbed her leg.

Oh there you are!!!

She looked relieved.

Was this Satan? Surely she hadn't named her son Satan? I could get it for the comedy value but there was only a certain mileage in that.

Poor kid.

The good lady came over with our daughter. She called out to the mother of Satan.

Oh hey Martha! Didn't see you there. You and Nathan having fun?

The Mother of Satan turned and smiled.

Oh hi! Yeah, we are! Nathan was hiding and I panicked for a second but here he is!

She gestured to Satan who she had now picked up.

I snorted to myself. Nathan...?

Pfft, a likely story.

Sort:  

Lol!!!! Sounds like your hearing goes when you are hungover hehehe!!! As for the contemplation of calling your son Satan, haha... I feel pretty much the same about names like Lucian /Lucien. I mean why didnt you just go right to the punch line and call him Lucifer hahaha because thats whats going to happen anyway. Lol some parents can be so cruel hahaha...

Lol, I think the same about those names. I think I am partially deaf and at the mercy of my fertile imagination when hungover!! And I am so dreadfully hungover!!

You were warned to go steady on the out of date ale! Or was this hangover, which has hopefully now subsided, due to other liquids?

I think it was just the exceptionally strong ales!!

Haha shame!! I feel so bloody horrid today that I may aswell be hungover. Lol my body has gone into some serious shock with all this carb withdrawal lol.

Yeek. I mean obviously I would say get some carb in ya but I know what it's like!!

Well I did have two slices of toast with my bacon and egg this morning to try and alleviate the nausea but it has not helped one damn bit lol. But let me not ambush your devil children post with such trivialities lol :D

Oh ha, then fuck that. You've had enough carb ladyo!!! Haha! :0p

I had to do the celsius to fahrenheit conversion and yikes, shorts?? It's probably between 8-9 celsius right now here and brrr. Compared to the middle of February it's pretty decent, but definitely still coat weather!

Ah hangover, my companion and yours, ALL shouting sounds like satan haha!

It does doesn't it. Stop shouting you mad people!!

It's bloody freezing but people really do go nuts here when the sun comes out. I mean shorts, today!? It's nuts!!

Stella Artois sounded familiar, I looked it up and yup that's a beer I bought Howie a couple months ago because he wanted something Lager like and it was all they had....we would probably still have four out of the six pack if my son didn't sneak them, they're god awful!

They are godawful, totally minging. Due to a major ad campaign here they are seen as quite sophisticated to the plebs!!

I don't miss those cold park days. I suppose wearing a vest and shorts is hopeful thinking in Scotland. You know when summer is coming when you hear the ice cream van and was the plus of going to the park.

Hehe, I do still get that thrill when I hear the tinkle of the ice cream van! Won't see one of them for a month or two yet!!

I've always thought of the name Nathan with a negative connotation. Maybe you have too, unknowingly :)

I like the satan beard on you. I'm not so sure about the horns though. Looks a little too Viking.

I head made giant ram-style ones but they looked like seashells on my head :0)

Yeah, it's a horrible name!

Lol! You could have spent so much time in the comments telling people that they are not seashells :)

Well there would have been that! :0)

Damn. I named my boy Stella Artois...

Send him to Scotland, he will be hailed as a king!!

@meesterboom Surely it would be very cold, with all the calories of the% 12.3 yesterday in your body had to withstand any low temperature and with the hangover is common that you can confuse a bit the nobres
I wish you a prosperous week dear friend

The calories helped. Lord knows what it would have been like without them!!

The joys of hangover hearing and some peoples choice of names.
I feel sorry for some kids when they start school and their name, or initials with their surname is derided by their classmates. Some parents don't think of the results when they name their kids.
[But Satan probably was the name the kid should have been given]

I know. It's madness that they don't think when they are banking them. We had an Alastair Reynolds Spencer in our class at school. Obviously everybody called him arse. He had a really tough time.

Those two names sound nothing alike!

Maybe being hung over is adversely affecting your hearing, you may need to cut back on that XD

Although that could make for another fun horror movie.

They do!!! Imagine them being shouted in the cold frosty air!!!

It couldn't possibly have anything to do with the hangover! ;0)

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.328 which ranks you at #215 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 216).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06