Do I have trust issues?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

ksf7m8360i.jpg
src

An interesting incident happened yesterday and I would like to share with you.

I was driving to work and a car was parked on the side road with hazard lights on. It was windy and raining heavily. A gentleman wearing a suit was waving hand requesting for help. The two cars infront of me didn’t stop. I was in two minds whether to stop or not as I might be late for work. However I did stop in the end.
The man came running to the car, I lowered my window. He asked me if I speak German? I replied ‘only English ‘. He did speak a little English and showed me his business card saying he is in imports and exports business, is from Dubai, his debit card chip was broken and he needs money for the fuel as he has to drive to London.

I asked how much he needs and he said £50. That’s a lot of money. I usually don’t keep so much of money but I did have £60 cash in my pocket. I told him I can give £20 but he insisted I give him atleast £40 and he would give me x50 back and he took a ring out of his pocket and gave it to me saying it’s a gold ring and he would take the ring back when he gives my money back.

I took the ring and kept it in the utilities box and gave the gentleman £40. He said he has a great respect for a Muslim assuming i am one because of my skin colour and I told him ‘I’m not a muslim’. I gave my name and mobile number and to contact me today after 630pm when I finish my work and drove off as I was getting late for the work and I could hear a baby crying faintly in the car behind.

So many things came to my mind after this. Should i have trusted the man and gave him £50 without taking the ring? Is the ring golden at all? There seems to a baby in the car he was driving. The car had European number plate.

For a moment I felt guilty as I took the ring even it is golden or not but later I backed myself, I actually stopped the car and helped him and this has settled my guilt to some extent.

I am eagerly waiting what would happen today. Will he call or not? Let’s wait and see.

Would be interested to know what you would have done in this situation.

Have a great day.

Sort:  

Hi brother @moghul whatever you did is nice but please do share in next post what happened in the evening.
I think personally that it's ok to trust people in need because that's how it should be. If we don't trust then it will be difficult to expect the same from anyone and we never know the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Alok
I will write what happened

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Alok
I will write what happened

Posted using Partiko iOS

This technique is often used by Romanian gypsies to "make money". In Romania they claim they worked for someone and they didn't got paid so they stole the ring and that they don't have money to go back home and so on. I hope that man was no gypsy doing this kind of things but if he doesn't call you you might have been tricked. They use all sort of emotional stimulants, even babies.

He didn’t mention the baby is the car. I heard a cry.
Will wait and see today

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm curious about the situation. Romanian gypsies are "very clever" with this sort of things. I hope though that the situation was real and you really helped someone.

Hi @moghul, good job brother 👌
I would like to know that what will happen
Please don't forget to share with us 😇

Nice blog

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thanks

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice tropic brother

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

Posted using Partiko iOS

That a very heart touching story but most people are so hard to trust. If you trust them base on what you will do, you cannot predict if they will act the same way under the same circumstances.
One thing I always stand by is:

what I cannot give, I cannot lend it out

A²¹

Posted using Partiko Android

Please read this to see what happened next.
https://steemit.com/life/@moghul/do-i-have-trust-issues-part-2

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13