The Dependability Of A True Friend

in #life6 years ago (edited)

[Original Picture: Mum On Her 60th Birthday Last Year]

Do you have any friend who has come a long way with you in life? Friends at whose wedding, you mustn't be handed the microphone because you simply won't know when to stop talking? Friends who you might not see for ages but when you eventually see, you get on like fire and gasoline and can stay up all night laughing and talking as though you were never apart? If you have friends like that, congratulations! You are one of the lucky ones. I am definitely lucky to have about 6 of such friends and the first of them all is my mother. I bet you just raised your eyebrows at that statement...lol. I bet you're thinking, "Duh! That's your Mum, not your friend!". If you did that or thought that, I beg to disabuse you. My Mum is my oldest and best friend, my staunchest supporter, my very own confidante. From as far back as I can remember, she treated me as a friend and not just a daughter. Even as she taught me the basics of life and chastised me, she ensured the friendship was sustained. I remember when I had my first crush way back then, there was no one I wanted to share it with more than Mum. I remember how she laughed gently at me, telling me it was okay to feel what I felt and educating me on ways to not make a fool of myself around him. She told me how crushes were normal but not real because the "crusher" would usually put the "crushee" on a very high and improbable pedestal. She told me that once the "crushee" becomes demystified to me, the crush would fade away naturally. Oh boy! How right she was! She also taught me how to be practical, decisive and selective about love as opposed to getting carried away by the transient & fickle "butterflies in the tummy" feelings. Thank God for Mum!


[Original Picture: Mum & Her Sisters]

Mum, my best, most dependable, most consistent friend! She taught me how to laugh and be full of joy regardless of the situation around me. I was with a new friend quite recently and he asked, "How come you laugh so much? I'm not a funny person generally, so it's a bit of a wonder to me that you appear to be really enjoying my gist". I might not have said it exactly the way he did, but this was basically what he was trying to convey. His question and befuddlement made me laugh even harder...lol. Here was a perfectly interesting, humorous young man, doubting his ability to share his humor and inspire laughter. I asked him what kind of friends he had been hanging out with and of course that led to more in-depth gist that opened the "pandora's box" of issues he had! We ended the meeting on a very lighthearted and happy note. That ability to laugh and enjoy life was another major influence of my Mum. I grew up watching her relate with her friends. with her siblings and other people generally, and I learnt so much from her. She always found a reason to laugh. She believed that almost everyone had a good side, no matter how bad they appeared. She would always seek to put people at ease and to make them smile. She was a "hugger" per excellence and would hug even the dirtiest laborer if he'll let her. Eeewwww yeah? lol. I used to cringe a lot too, watching her hug weird people and some of their responses were epic! There was a young man who burst into tears and held on to her like he'll never let go. She wasn't fazed at all! She just held him until he spent his tears. We found out later that he was psychological traumatized because he had been neglected emotionally and had never been hugged by his very undemonstrative parents.

I could go on and on but I wouldn't risk boring you about what a paragon Mum is. I just wanted to share a tiny little bit of her with you and I hope I was able to do it right. She is my all time heroine and role model. I seek to be like her, influencing my world positively and bringing love and joy to many like she does. I will do my very best to instill all she has taught me in my children as well. Do you have a friend or Mum like mine? If you do, please share the love, there are so many people out there who need to know and feel what love really is. If you have none, don't be discouraged. There is hope as long as you have life. You can learn these things by deliberately choosing to associate only with the right people; such people are positive, comfortable in their own skin, joyful, dependable and supportive.


Cheers and thanks for reading!!
Sort:  

You just inspired one heck of a post from me!i love this!watch out!

Your mum is so sweet

Yayyyy! Thanks baby!

Wow!
What a lovely speech about your mum...she must be a special and an amazing mother...
Am amazed at where you said that "She's your confidante and supporter" to the extend of telling her about your crush...lol....i love that, it makes one children not to go astray by confiding in their friends whom may give bad advise....by God grace i will bring up my child in such manner.....
Thanks a lot for sharing @mosunomotunde

Thanks a lot darling. She is indeed a great woman and yes children need to be friends with their parents....it would keep them safe from a whole lot of bad influences.

Wow
Your Mum is beautiful, now I know where you got the good heart from and happy birthday to her.
My Mum is also a good friend to me, whenever she sees me, there are so many things to talk about and we could just keep talking that way.

Your Mum is as wonderful as mine! Aren't we lucky?! Thanks for this Tobi

Yes we are ma'am

Mothers are doing alot to raise there children, to me I feel we own them a lot. Nice one

Oh yes we do owe them a lot! Thanks for this

Moms are like no other. They are just angelic , irreplacable.

Same thing with my mom, i discuss anything and everything concerning me to her, she is always willing to hear me out. Like your mum she is also my confidante. Thanks for sharing!

@braide, we are both blessed and lucky and so the onus lies on us to pass on the same to our kids. Cheers!

Wow this is a special article, she look so pretty and calm. This shows that she's a one in a million to you. Am happy for you that you have a good advisers in time of crush. Wow a friend like mum... Lol. Stay shining

Thanks a gazillion @princefm. Yes she is really pretty and calm. Cheers!

Sorry for late reply🙏. How is your family MA. Stay awesome Ma

You will never bore me if you have kept writing. Moms are the best for they are the ones nurturing us. This just shows how much you adore your mom. To be best friends with her, who knows everything about you, someone you can talk to and be open with everything, that is a rare gift especially if it is your parents. Good for you that you found a friend in her. You, your mom and her sisters are beautiful!

I have a couple of friends who I can be open with for we have been together for a long time now and they are the people that I am most comfortable with. I have been through times that I needed a friend and they were there and stick with me until now.

Awwww....thanks for this beautiful comment @leeart. You are fantastic! I'm so glad you have friends like that too. We need them!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mosunomotunde from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love how you took out the time to do this. Mama is a gem! She isn't on the blockchain but if she could see this, she'd be so proud of you. I'm sure she is already.

Do you have a friend or Mum like mine?

I do. ;-D

Thanks darling. Glad you got a Mum like mine too!!

Wow, such a mum! In Africa? That's unafrican, parents like to focus more on authority in Africa. Usually. You must be very lucky to have grown up around such a great mom. 👍

Lol, I agree!Thanks baby

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98