You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Personal - Have You Ever Been on a Magical Mystery Tour?

in #life6 years ago

That is truly a very magical adventure that you had on your honeymoon! I'm glad that everything turned out okay, it seems that the balloon dipped way too close to the water for comfort - so close you could potentially bend down and touch the water? (a bad idea but for illustration)

I hadn't thought much about going on a hot air balloon tour before, myself, but after seeing your amazing pictures of these great views of Egypt, I'm thinking about trying it some time, but after hearing about the caveats, I'm hesitant again... the pilot apparently being very young makes things a little awkward, I'd probably have serious second thoughts but decide whatever and go through with it.

That's a funny end to the story, I definitely never thought about the landing process but landing in a farmer's field is certainly unexpected. I guess it isn't too much of a stretch for him to want compensation in case crops got damaged but surely not too many got hurt...

As for a magical memory of mine, I'd probably go with a helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon. It's not the most magical but it's what came to mind; while the tour felt rather short, it was really cool to see the Grand Canyon from the air as well as the whole experience of being in a helicopter - I felt pretty small inside that cabin while looking outside! I'd think the hot air balloon would feel more magical as you're outside though with the wind in your hair and such.

Sort:  

The Grand Canyon is one of my dream destinations and by helicopter sounds perfect.

But yes, I would definitely recommend a hot air balloon trip. The 14 year did have someone with him guiding him, I forgot to include that in the post in the end. It felt like we could lean out an touch the water, but we were still a handful of metres above the Nile.

Just don't take the helicopter if it's too windy, I heard that there was an accident a few months back...

That inspires a lot more confidence if there was a guide haha

The Grand Canyon simply must be seen. All the pictures on earth can not prepare you for it. And if you come, I know a really good ice cream/coffee shop on the south rim. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66