You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pulling Yourself Back From the Darkness

in #life6 years ago

Firstly, I’m deeply sorry for your recent losses and grateful for your heartfelt sharing here.

This is so important to keep talking about so I’m grateful that you’ve made this post.

I’ve lost too many close, dear people I’ve loved to suicide.
The finality of it allows no further solution to arise and there are ALWAYS things worth living for and no body can predict what incredible things they would go on to do. My older brother couldn’t be have known that he would become such a generous, happy amazing man, when he attempted suicide.
When you’re in those moments of darkness it’s hard to see that it is just a wave of life. Like waves, which come and go, the good the bad, the ups and downs, these waves don’t last.
The good doesn’t last. The bad doesn’t last.
That’s why I’ve been on a mission to save lives for many years through my music and through connecting with people and now I’ve started the @preventsuicide page (which is still nascent) and the Prevent suicide discord server https://discord.gg/kWXHSBp
to reach out to our awesome fellow steemians who may need to connect with others who’ve been survived that darkness or experience it often.
In fact, our team of kind souls is growing and we could use the help of more volunteers there if anybody is feeling to join us.
Blessings to you for opening up here. There’s lots of great advice in this post.

I would add that if anyone is feeling at the end of their rope to please contact your local suicide prevention hotline.
The people on the other end of the line are discrete, compassionate and can help you.
Don’t be embarrassed or afraid to reach out to them.

Sort:  

This is a beautiful comment, thank you so very much. Kudos to you for starting a page and Discord group for those wanting help or access to resources. Suicide is a final decision that is preventable. I would love to be able to flood the world with so much positivity and so much light one day that no one would want to think about it anymore. But, sometimes life does get hard to handle, I can relate. We are all given challenges that we must endure but when we come out the other side of them, we are given so many blessings and so many opportunities. I want to be able to reach out to those that are struggling and help because I know how hard it is to lose someone to suicide. I am sorry that you have faced loss, as well. And rejoice that your brother found peace. I echo the thought of contacting your local suicide prevention hotline if you are having thoughts of suicide <3
Ivy

Kindred spirits think alike. 🙏🏽💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71