You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Training for Getting What You Want

in #life6 years ago

I know I am not there yet but I am happy that I have realized before it is too late the adjustments I need to do. My life has been so focused on providing for others that I had never focus on myself which has impacted my ability to truly know what I even want. However, I have slowly become to appreciate the simple things in life which has given me perspective in my journey toward freedom and happiness.

Sort:  

You've nailed the heart of the path, knowing what you want.

I can recall so many years ago that a supervisor in my therapy training program was asking me if I knew what I wanted. You might wonder why a supervisor would ask such a question, but she saw it as a part of my being a good support to others to first be able to support myself. To her, that started by knowing what I wanted.

I'll share with you the exercise she gave me then: Every hour, as close to the top of the hour as you can manage, ask yourself three questions. 1) What do I want? 2) Why do I want it? and 3) What's one thing I could do to move me in the direction of getting it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86