Money or Kindness?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-12-08 at 1.33.38 AM.png

My customer George told me, "I have Parkinson's disease."

What he didn't tell me—

He only had a couple of months to live.

"My hands are too shaky to use the iPhone I bought," he said.

The phone was a week outside of the return date.

I asked my manager to make an exception.

He said no.

He took me in the back room and said, "Sell him one of these refurbished ones instead."

They were $300.

I knew you could get used basic phones for $20 online.

George had a lot of medical bills.

Said he couldn't afford it.

I told him, "Listen. Come back in an hour."

"I'll go home on my lunch break and get one of my old phones for you."

He came back—

And I gave him the phone for free.

He didn't understand technology—

So I took his iPhone and sold it for him for $450 on eBay.

I handed him the cash the next week.

Two months later—

I got a phone call from his best friend.

She said, "You might not remember me. I came into the store with George to help with his phone."

"He died last week. I wanted you to know that he talked about you until the day he died."

"Your kindness really touched him."

I went into the inventory room and cried.

At the end of the day—

It doesn't matter if you hit your sales goals.

If you're the top performer at work.

Loving others is what truly counts.

You'll be remembered for your kindness—

More than any success you gain.
steem divider .png

I know this story is different than stuff I typically write. But I'm experimenting a new way of telling my personal stories.

My mom is probably the only one who knows this story.

Until now.

I don't know what it is about steemit that compels me to post stuff that I normally wouldn't.

To be honest, I have to write things like this for my job. So I wrote down one of my stories to practice.

Sort:  

Fantastic telling of an amazing tale. The best part for me is I kept reading until the end, even though I pretty much figured out where you were going with it. I knew it was going to be doing something kind for the gentleman. It’s who you are. ❤️

Amen, and may I just say thank you to @gentlebot for still plugging away upvoting awesome comments like this :)

Never heard of @gentlebot but it sounds pretty damn awesome. Thank you as well Carl for the kind words!

Yeah @gentlebot is really cool, it looks for good comments and upvotes them. It is AI / machine learning and all in all it seems to do a pretty good job. Every now and then I see a head scratcher where @gentlebot upvoted a comment and it isn't obvious why, but most of the time it seems to reward actual good honest comments. No strings attached.

Aw, what a lovely bot!

yeah that's awesome!

Reading to the end, that's a pretty big deal nowadays! Thanks for letting me know that.

I updated my post to mention that a big part of the reason I was inspired to write this story is because I write things like this for work.

It's a new job and new way of writing for me, so I wrote down one of my own stories and posted it here for practice. I feel kiiiinda weird about it though, 'cause I worried a little that it would come across like I'm trying to look like this really nice person or whatever.

But that wasn't the goal or the point. So if I ever do something dirtbaggy like that, lemme know

This is really perfect in its simplicity and direct approach. I wouldn't change a word. Thank you for sharing a beautiful and sad story which manages to be uplifting and inspirational at the same time as making me tear up a little. Much love - Carl

Thanks for your comment! I really appreciate where you said "I wouldn't change a word." I updated my post to mention that a big part of the reason I was inspired to write this story is because I write things like this for work.

It's a new job and new way of writing for me, so I wrote down one of my own stories and posted it here for practice. I did sit there and debate about whether to change words around, or take out the 2nd and 3rd lines especially. It took me way too long to decide whether to leave that part in or not (15 minutes haha don't judge).

So thanks for the kind words. I was definitely hoping it would be uplifting.

Wow! What a beautiful and touching story. Thank you for sharing this. It makes me feel like I know you better as a person and your kindness will inspire others. It’s great to see this side of you and the loving soul that you are.

Make an alter account @lovematters :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I @lovematters that idea @bubke!!!!!

F41CD67F-31E4-420E-8DAB-C9F429601253.jpeg

I like it :)

A sad but lovely story. You have just reached awesome status in my book for this deed.

Thank you for sharing, I love reading stuff like this!

no no keep me at the same status as before! The point wasn't to try to make myself look awesome 😁

Of course not, but that just happens naturally when you tell people heart-warming stuff like this.

money only gets you so far in life. Kindness is what makes it worth living! This story is so you keep up being Awesome!

you too! @ttanarcy where did you go??

It was a nice thing to read. to many people think "what does it matter" it does make a difference. To many people have turned doing the right thing into something that is wrong, Thank you so much for showing people that the right thing to do is the right thing to do.

Touching story. My grandpa had Parkinsons for years.
Sounds like you really had an impact on him.

Posted using Partiko Android

:O wow...your manager is a bad person first of all...actually..no...you're a great person first of all.

Im wondering what would happen if you would write excatly this story for your work. Would be amazing to see how the colleagues will treat that manager without an empathy..

I'm just an average person! Lots of people would do the same, lol I'm all embarrassed 'cause the point wasn't to make him look bad or me look good. I'm sure he's a good guy in lots of other ways. We all have our faults.

Me included.

I bet you would've done the same thing, dumpster diver (haha that's my new nickname for you, by the way. Take it as a compliment because I love dumpster diving 😂)

Hmm I would but I actually generally don't think many people would...haha compliment taken :D how the hell did you get here after 2 months btw? :D

Beautiful history, this is how human beings should be, help without expecting anything in return, not be indolent, but empathic.

Always leave a positive footprint wherever we are, wherever we go.

Thanks for your sweet comment @blessed-girl. Agreed.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87