Letting in Light: on healing ancient history

in #life6 years ago (edited)

0d3156c9-9fac-481c-adbd-53ca2a7bc485.jpeg

When she was very small the cool kids made her walk at least ten steps behind them, alone. She felt a red hard ball of shame lodge firmly in her chest, where it has remained ever since.

I have been visiting with her. Helping her find all these things that have become stuck in her heart. Breathing out the colours - red, black, and blue. Showing her how to package them up and throw them back to where they belong, and to who rightfully owns them. This shame is not hers to carry, it is theirs. Telling her to breath in love instead. "But I don't know what colour it is", she tells me.

Yellow, I answer, love is yellow like the warmth of the sun filtered through the trees of the forest. She closes her eyes and takes in a deep breath. It has taken her so very long to trust me for I, too, had treated her poorly. Called her names. This is my ammends.

She wants to know who I am. I ask her who she thinks I might be? She tells me she thinks maybe I am an angel. I whisper that if this is true then so is she. Curiosity plays across her face. I take her hand and explain ... "Sweetheart, I am you. All grown up". She folds in to me and thanks me for coming back. "I didn't think anyone cared", she says softly.

_______

All words and pictures are my own. Some of my content may have been previously published in one of more of the following locations:

Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog

You can also find me on LinkedIn

-- - - - ---- - - -- ----- - - -- - - -- --- - - -- -

Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

Sort:  

Beautifully written. All of us must be able to relate on some level.

I suspect you are right. We all have a little one in there that could do with some loving.

Lovely work. Nice to meet you! 😊

We are totally akin...except that for me, love is RED. But that’s cool. We all have our own colors.

Thanks to @countrygirl for resteeming you.

this is an allegory replete with symbolism and colour imagery - it's not caviar for the general - it is art, and some will miss the subtext because it appeals to discerning readers but you did an excellent job in the writing and photo. Very concise and intense.Hopefully there are enough perceptive readers on steemit to appreciate what you did here. Good work!

Wow. This is SO powerful. I completely have chills. And teared up. Hit me close to home. Also, did you really take that photo??? See, THIS is why I try to check my feed a few times a week. For stuff like this! I have resteemed.

You should come to my block party at my discord channel. I would love to feature you! Here's the invitation to the party if you can make it. It's tomorrow. https://steemit.com/contest/@littlescribe/steemtopia-party-wednesday-free-sbd-giveaways

Thank you. For your beautifully kind feedback and for resteeming. Yes I took the photo and edited in tge sunbeams on this one so mixed media. It is at Parramatta Lake.

A block party sounds absolutely fabulous. I am not sure I can make it but will check it out and see.

How can you write so good... Bravo!

A lot of practice @punkey I am still learning. Steemit has been my favourite place for honing and trying new things. It is the perfect place for that.

Oh my......this touched my heart! Beautifully written and the photo is amazing. Nice job!

I know. I could not agree more! It was stunningly written. And a beautiful photo.

This is the first post of hers I've seen...I'm very impressed.

This thread made my day. Thank you both so much ❤

@countrygirl, you should try and come to my discord party! It's in 40 minutes! Here's the link to the invite:

STEEMTOPIA PARTY 8 pm UTC. Grab a seat and make yourself at home! SBD giveaways, new featured artists and writers, games, and more!

Oh, I just got in. Sorry I missed it. Maybe another time? Thank you for the invite however :)

Thank you. I am so glad you connected to it. Thanks for the resteem. That was so kind.

Beautiful picture and story.

Thanks for that.

I love your story.

Oh thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed it.

After reading this I am happy to be following and look forward to more.
_point_commission__nekotalia_cangreen_by_tangwi-d78sio6.gif

Well penned conversation with your younger self. Your tale relates something all of us who struggle forget sometimes – someone always cares because you are always there in yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85